Posted in uncategorized

A to Z Challenge: Wajood-The Identity


Letter W for Wajood is written as part of ‪#‎AtoZChallenge‬: Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. It’s heating up now! It’s climax and guarantee for heart-pounding action.

In Hindi, Wajood means identity.

Wajood-The Identity

I twirl at the surgical light in the operation theatre. A rehash of memory plays like a movie flashback to the struggling days in Mumbai when the security pushed me away from the gate of film producers with lathi and flung my portfolio on the ground. I picked my trampled and crushed pictures smeared with mud and footsteps. The imposters posing as agents who fled with my hard earned money in lakhs after promising to get me roles. I slowly sink in coma.

TV channels are flashing breaking news and newspapers are printing Stop Press. Doctors and PR agencies are giving sound-bytes to confirm, “It’s with deep regret that we announce that superstar Akhil Kumar has succumbed to bullets and has been declared dead in the morning. The doctors tried their level best to revive him but fate had it their way. We must say that he was a very strong patient and fought till his last breath.”

The mafia lord, Bhai Saab is celebrating my death inside the hotel with a huge party and alcohol flowing. After all, he is safe and no one can expose him now. He is cuddling to the singing sensation, Sanjana his new muse who has no qualm dancing to his tune. He rules forever on the film industry.

The new reigning Queen of the film industry is performing to a sizzling dance, ‘Yeh Raat’ to entertain the underworld and Arab guests making the most powerful deal that will shatter the city. A storm hits the party like a tornado when shard of glasses swirls like an earthquake, shaking the hotel’s foundation. The glass designed structure splinters in various directions with force and the hotel lobby is crumbling into dust when a car violently cracks into the wall with thundering force. The glass separation that sits between the lobby and the VIP lounge splits into the air as the car flies inside the party.

The powerful engine revs up and crush everything on its way; the guests, bar, and alcohol on display.

The high flyer party stands as a mute spectator to automatic gun firing from the automatic car and the mafia inside the hotel. Human corpses are lying cold on the floor where blood and alcohol makes a deadly combination of human cocktail.

Two long hands stretch out of the car window and grabs the new crowned Queen and Sanjana by the hair and on the spur of the moment, two shining black shoes surfaces out of the car with the door wide open. A gun is fixed on the head of the sexy sirens.

The mafia lord’s mouth is wide open. “How can this be possible? We killed you?” The guests are running for their lives shouting, ‘Bhoot! Bhoot! Run!’ Akhil Kumar laughs hysterically, “I am dead to the world but not to you. After all, I resurrected to send you in the heaven of hell. Bhai Saab! It’s your last party on earth and your bimbos will give you company. Don’t worry.”

I pull the trigger on the temple of the Queen of acting and my once torrid companion Sanjana, whispering into her ear ‘Salirophilia’. Both are flung down and their inert bodies lie on the floor, swimming in blood and expensive alcohol.

I wink at Bhai Saab. In the last 24 hours, DCP has given me a new wajood (identity) that would change lives forever.  Akhil Kumar is no more and the world is mourning him. I don’t remember him. “You are no longer a superstar. Wipe them all. I will clear your name. As you are set on the new mission, television channels will air the real face of Bhai Saab,” the DCP told me in the hospital. “You will save every kid exploited by the mafia and corrupt faces.”

I slowly got up from the hospital bed and promised to DCP, “I swear to you that duniya ki koi bhi tank at Mujhe rok nahin Sakta aaj (No power in the world will stop me from finishing them). In a fling of seconds, I was out to get them, driving the bulletproof and specially designed car for the mission. I have left behind showbiz and wear my new identity, far away from everyone. A strong sense of peace engulfs me. Today, bodies of evil souls will fall. Bhai Saab takes a backward step. I saunter in his direction.

Author:

Work-in-progress, seeker, and bundle of contradictions. Stubborn and Refusal to grow up and constantly in search of myself, I blurt it out on my space. Drop in and share some love. Indian!!!

13 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge: Wajood-The Identity

  1. That was very hero-style re-entry… Hero kabhi marta nahi 😀
    Btw I liked the fact you have hired a heroine for item song on your blog!!! 😀 Quite a different take 😀

    1. Thanks so much Shesha. My attempt to make masaledar like our old movies a car bursting inside a venue and a heroine dancing to yeh raat. My tribute to masala entertainment. It’s no brainer kinda story. Haan!! Climax aa gaya aur saala action shuru nahin hua, toh hero kaise mar sakta hai:)

Leave a comment