Posted in uncategorized

WoW: ‘I shall haunt you forever’


This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda. 

Write Over the Weekend inspiration for this time

What if Orkut was a person and not a mere social networking site? What would he/she feel about the fact that he/she will cease to exist now. Orkut wants to talk to you, what will it talk?

************************************************************************

wowbadge

‘I shall haunt you forever’

“Hey friend, why standing so sullen and not saying anything to me? Your eyes is moist and if you feel like crying, just do it and don’t bottle things inside. Your silence is killing me. I can’t bear seeing you so sad,” I tell her.

“What is there to say, now? My friend, you have forgotten me and made Facebook your new chaddi buddy. I feel sad that you never thought about me. Is that what you call friendship. Anyways, it’s a matter of days and months and I’ll be gone forever from your life.”

I protest, “But, that’s not true at all, Orkut. I just can’t believe what you just said. I always visited you from time to time and going all the way to retrieve password to say hello. It was my way to tell you that you’ve always been my first love and our relationship is and will always be special.”

I take a pause. “Orkut, you must know when Google uncle told us that you’ll be sent to another world, my heart broke down. I prove myself as your loyal friend penned an ode to you on my blog and I am writing an Orkut love story for 31 days on my other blog for the UBC. Please do not accuse me of forgetting you, my friend.”

Orkut’s face beamed with pride and dollops of naughtiness. “What do you think? I will let you forget me…”

I smile back, “I will not! Be proud, dear friend. You taught us how to love and you selflessly played match maker, bringing hearts closer, carved life long friendship and scripted love stories that turned into marriage. You revolutionized our lives and your siblings, Facebook and Twitter are a pale imitation of your good heart cum roaring success.”

She smiles, “Hey, dear friend, I hope you will save and download all our memories of scraps, testimonials, crushes and fans on your Google drive. One thing I promise you: I will haunt you to no end and stay in your heart forever. I am like that only and it’s impossible for people to forget my love that I spread like wild fire. Let’s not feel sad and enjoy every moment of togetherness.”

We enjoyed our cup of coffee, logged on for the last time on Orkut and hugged each other. We silently looked into each other, wanting to tell, “We shall meet..another place and another time.”

 

Author:

Work-in-progress, seeker, and bundle of contradictions. Stubborn and Refusal to grow up and constantly in search of myself, I blurt it out on my space. Drop in and share some love. Indian!!!

28 thoughts on “WoW: ‘I shall haunt you forever’

  1. What a sweet post Vishal?! It almost felt like Orkut had come to life! I’m gonna miss Orkut too 😦

  2. Interesting! That’s one way of paying tribute… the words Scraps and Testimonials still ring like it was yesterday… exchanging testimonials, who viewed my profile list… the About Me page… ufff

    1. Oh yeah, how can I forget profile views which is lacking in FB..I filled my About Me page..it feels like yesterday only that we had the tryst and ongoing Orkut romance:)

Leave a comment