Is Mumbai Safe for Women? I don’t feel proud today

23protest2I was in a very good mood during the day when some unexpected magic unfurled itself only to sink into a depressing state later during the day as I watched with horror on TV the gang rape of the 22 year old photo journalist intern in Mumbai. I am mortified to see something like this happening in a city like Mumbai which was considered to be a safe haven for women. I cannot come to terms with this dastard crime anymore! For someone who was not born in Mumbai but spent six years in maximum city, I took pride to call myself a proud Mumbaikar and walked with pride when I saw women getting down at Church gate Station past midnight with huge shopping bags after work. Tease a women and menfolks will pounce at you! Is Mumbai a changed city? I am shivering when I think about the hard reality. I am no longer in Mumbai but perhaps I need a reality check!!!

No Sir, the young woman was not scantily dressed, nor was she drunk or puffing a cigarette when she was dragged by five sick minds at Shakti mills at 6 pm in the center of the city? She was an independent woman doing her job. Now, the big question is what has changed since Nirbhaya was gang raped? Nothing, absolutely nothing! My heart bleeds as an Indian who may not be staying in the country right now! The main problem is the lack of effective laws to protect women and the sexist comments in parliament is such a shame. First, we need to set a precedent and I wonder whether such rapists should be lynched by the public! There is no time frame for action. There are thousands of daughters of India who are repeatedly raped yet nothing is being done. I wonder whether one day the public will take law in their own hands to punish the culprits. I fear for the security of my female friends! I often wonder whether we should go by the Saudi Arabian way by flogging the rapists and whether it’s high time to introduce chemical castration or release the pictures and names of rapists on public forums.

It’s an irony that we worship the female forms in temple and for that matter celebrate Raksha Bandhan and vow to protect our sisters. Yet, we don’t flinch in insulting the female form of Goddesses, mothers or sisters who carried us in the womb for nine months. How we humiliate our mother by committing rape?! If we cannot respect our women, let’s do away with celebrating Raksha Bandhan or for that matter, close all temples. Even dogs don’t behave like that! It’s even more revolting when one see Maharashtra Home Minister R R Patil offering police protection to women journalists working in isolated areas. Sorry! Sir! A journalist need to work in its own creative space and what are you hinting at? Women should stay in their homes and cannot be secure or should not step out of their homes. It’s such a callous statement. Has this unfortunate statement been made to cover your failure in protection women? For heaven sake, even if a women walk naked on the street, you have no right to touch her. Let’s teach our sons to respect women since an early age and as part of their education.

I was aghast on seeing the lawyer of one of the accused in Nirbhaya rape case saying that women wear provocative clothes and that Nirbhaya as well as the journo should not have hopped on the bus and ventured out, respectively. The sick lawyer, M L Sharma has the guts to hold everyone except the accused responsible. As panelist and Supreme Court lawyer, Karuna Nundy, rightly pointed out that to M L Sharma that his thoughts reek of conservatism and doesn’t befit a lawyer.

Mr M L Sharma, it’s disgusting for you to slam women for wearing provocative clothes and blaming them for rape. It’s so shocking that I wanted to slap you and it reflects on the attitudes of several males. In doing like that, you have shown disrespect and disrepute to your profession, the legal profession. I am amazed at your lack of professional ethics and conservative et sick mindset. It looks like by defending a rape accused, you have inherited a sick mind that reflects of the dark age. I really wish that action is being taken against you.

However, I also wish to show my displeasure in brandishing India as a rape country. It is true that rape is a matter of concern and women are the one who faces the humiliation of the body as the work of some sickos in society. It’s wrong to call it an entirely Indian phenomena as rape happens in US, the West and several other countries across the globe. By labeling India as a rape country, we diminish the effort undertaken by the protests against rape and showing disrespect to women who struggle everyday in fighting rape and groping in public places.

It’s been such a bad day and extremely revolting to see someone being raped while performing her duty. If we want to control rape, let’s introduce death penalty on the perpetrators in the bid to protect our women. Certainly, not the kind of news one wish to hear or watch on TV channels for a Friday. It’s revolting, outrageous and disgusting.


Good Night



  1. I’m behind in my comments, sorry about that. A very thoughtful and intelligent post. I doubt any country is more of a rape country than any other. It boils down quite simply to viewing women as sex objects. I could write loads on this, but I think you have made a great post with some excellent points eg clothing, right to walk out any time any place, blaming women. Thank you for this post – and thanks to the men who also want to stop rape. At least there are some good men out there.

    • Hey, I am sorry for not commenting. I will make amends. It’s something I feel strongly about and it’s depressing when we view women as sex objects. We need to make a difference and in many countries, women are subjected to sexual violence. It’s sick and wonder what the world becoming. How can we accept such things in our so-called human society? I am pained when I see some men blame women. Thanks for ur comments, my dear friend.

  2. Hi Vishal, You are so right when you say that nothing has changed after Nirbhaya’s case. Ironically this current incident of Mumbai gang-rape came into light just after I had read a post by fellow blogger on how she and her friends were tortured by some hooligans at Ajanta Ellora caves and another heritage site.

    As I was watching the news the ticker on the channel said that Mumbai-Delhi are not safe for women. You tell me which city is safe for women or children for that matter?

  3. Rape happens in the US and defense attorney examine the character, behavior and demeanor of the victim, and it makes me sick sometimes that the questioning of the victim revictimizes her. But 5 men? Dragging a woman? Now that would be treated as violence here. We have rape kits and here they would be punished, I believe. Gangs of men oppressing and victimizing women and advocating for them to wear Burqa is not something happening here. We would call them sex offenders and require them to be listed on public registries the rest of their lives, assuming they were convicted, and if they ever got out of jail. Religion should not protect this kind of savage behavior.

  4. I have been watching and reading about rapes in India with a shock … I have met few lovely Indian people (men and women) here in NZ, and probably built somewhat romantic picture of India in my mind. I was and remain horrified not only with the inhuman acts, but even more so authorities responses to it!

    • India is a wonderful country and you should not let go of the positive image, though it is not such a good idea to have a romantic picture of any country. The rape cases are horrifying and girls struggle daily and I feel it is where we should step in to support women belonging to any country. The apathy of authorities is a concern and I wonder whether one day the public will be fed up and deliver justice. Having said that, one should not generalize India is a rape country. Thanks for your comments Daniela and do join us in supporting the cause to prevent rape. I feel the issues are global.

  5. why Mumbai, name a place where woman feels safe ..
    a 6 month old child is not safe in this land of hundred crore devi and devtas…. these z security guys use security even to go to loo they are the only ones who are safe.
    disguising how men use/abuse women and kids to vent out their pent up heat.

    • Soma, this is horrifying to think that rapes are happening everywhere, be it a working woman, medical student or a child in the land where we worship devis, in the land. I always took pride in Mumbai being safe but now I can no longer say the same. It is disgusting and that’s why I believe in laws enacted in Gulf countries. Human Rights’ activists can go to hell when it comes to rape and one should have no empathy for rapists.

  6. Good for you for speaking out in favor of this woman, and the rights of all women. It’s men with hearts like yours that can stand up against this sort of permitted rape. (It frosts me when people point to the victim’s clothing as a reason for rape. I don’t believe in provocative dress, but it is in no way a permission slip allowing anyone to violate you at their will.) I hope the outcry by India’s citizens will make a difference.

    • I also hope that the light should keep burning in our hearts and it shivers when idiots points at clothing. I mean it’s revolting and there is a need for us to come together. Well! One can say I am not in India presently and I can speak out but I believe that I can make a difference through my blog, Twitter and FB that are powerful mediums. Thanks for the support, Jannat:)

  7. Pingback: Are Female Vigilantes The Answer To Stop Rapes In India? · Global Voices

  8. The same thought occurred to me. There goes another city thought to be safe for women down the path of others. It is as if the Delhi case has emboldened criminal elements rather than the other way round. I saw a comment on a FB update about some hatred towards a female TV anchor. one of the comments said, ‘You will get the Delhi treatment’! But look at the way they think. There were more comments. This is the one I couldn’t forget. These are ordinary citizens like you me and everyone else. But look how they think. What can be done to change that? Our country has still not understood that locking women and girl-children away or covering them up will never change things. The time has come to focus on male children. teach them something. But all reactions from the general population to those in authority are merely knee-jerk ones. The worst part is when you talk about it to people. Out of 10 at least 8 will tell you it was the girl’s fault. Such a sad state of affairs.
    I think India should be called rape country. Why shouldn’t it be? At least let that jolt the country into action, the shame of being called so because nothing else seems to work. US or any country might have a higher incidence of of rape. How does that help us? Will that statistic help even a single victim of rape?
    Thank you for writing this post, Vishal. More people should start thinking like you.

    • You are sp rught, Shail. After all, which city is safe after, Mumbai, I wonder?! Mumbai is a city I took pride for ensuring women safety in the wee hours in the morning but seeing rape happening that way, perhaps I need a reality check! The same thing happened to Nidhi Razdan and Shobha De where unfortunate comments were made. It is condemnable how such kind of comments were made and it’s simply ridiculous and something we should all condemn. True, they are the common people like us. We need to educate young boys at an early age how to respect women in society. That’s the sad part when we blame the victims for no fault of theirs. I disagree when we brandish India as a rape country since I feel we should not diminish the efforts and struggle of girls everyday when they get out. Statistics hardly matter and a rape is a rape. I think we all need to make some efforts in our own way to sensitize people. Thanks for appreciating.

  9. Pingback: Are Female Vigilantes The Answer To Stop Rapes In India? | International Political Forum

  10. Pingback: Are Female Vigilantes The Answer To Stop Rapes In India? | FJE NEWS

  11. Pingback: Frauen-Bürgerwehr um Vergewaltiger in Indien zu stoppen? · Global Voices auf Deutsch

  12. Pingback: Are Female Vigilantes The Answer To Stop Rapes In India? | Lakshmi Sarah Eassey

  13. Pingback: Är ett kvinnlig medborgargarde vad som behövs för att stoppa våldtäkterna i Indien? · Global Voices på svenska

Leave a Reply

