Posted in uncategorized

100 Words on Saturday: ‘The Writing Dilemma’


This post is written as part of 100 Words on Saturday Prompt hosted by http://writetribe.com/20-quotes-about-writing/

Write Tribe

 

‘The Writing Dilemma’

I vow to stop writing forever and throw away manuscripts and newspaper columns bearing by-lines. I am shattered and just deleted my blogs. After all, I am not cut off for writing after the hate mails, slanderous attacks on my mighty pen. I  penned my resignation letter which I hand to Madam editor after she shows me the hate mails on my latest Sunday column. She tears off my resignation letter that leaves me flabbergasted.  She flings a print out on my face, ‘that’s better’ :

If you can’t annoy somebody, there is little point in writing.

― Kingsley Amis

 

 

 

Author:

Work-in-progress, seeker, and bundle of contradictions. Stubborn and Refusal to grow up and constantly in search of myself, I blurt it out on my space. Drop in and share some love. Indian!!!

30 thoughts on “100 Words on Saturday: ‘The Writing Dilemma’

  1. Hate mails can be malicious & can wreck a person’s self – confidence and you have well brought this to the surface. But the show has to go on……

    1. It’s so true and it always sap one’s confidence. I received some disparaging comments on the blog once coz I said I admire Raavan’s intellect and another one on what I feel about religion. I choose to ignore them.
      Thanks loads, Kalpana:)

  2. Good take on prompt…if you can’s annoy at least one you aint telling the truth and if you arent telling the truth then you arent true to your soul and if you arent true to your soul then you are wasting your life away!!!

  3. Negative feedback can be damaging to one’s confidence but I liked the way you took the story to a positive angle. We must write from the heart, then, eventually, it won’t matter if others approve or disapprove of it.

  4. What a great piece on such a powerful quote Vishal! I was hoping this wasn’t a true story and sorry to hear it is partially. I do hope you keep writing nevertheless as it’s so important for us to express our truth to the world. There is usually at least one soul who can relate. I agree with Uma in that if we write from the heart – my interpretration, be true to ourself – then it won’t matter if others like or not, agree or disagree. Stay strong and keep writing! 🙂 ❤

    1. Thank u so much, Elly for such encouraging words. Guess that’s the beauty of writing, we are showered praise and earn brickbats. Of course, one should learn to rake things in our stride and move on:)

Leave a comment