Diwali framed with sweetness and light

Standard

Diwali is the time of the year we anticipate joy, fun to light the wick in the earthen and colorful lamps. It’s a routine exercise at home on the festive day with mom doing the prayer, filling the sweets in the bags to be distributed and decked in traditional Kurta and Pyjama or sari for the ladies. Gorging on sweets is a pleasurable activity where I exceeded all limits and did the same this time.

The traditional Puja lamp was lit on Choti Diwali by Mom and the dabba filled with sweets was placed on the thalis as offering.  This time, I was on a strict diet and medication since I have been diagnosed with high cholesterol. But, then, Diwali doesn’t come every day and indulged by trying to live up to my favorite phrase, ‘Koi bhi bahana chalega.’

The colorful wax candles were so much fun to light on Diwali. Aren’t they beautiful? Someone could have mistaken them for the colorful barfi on the plate.

I love the traditional earthen lamps and they look beautiful at night. Sorry for the quality of pictures on my old Kodak digital camera. No Diwali can happen without the beautiful earthen lamps.

On Diwali eve, I got the wax colorful candles which is imported from India and enjoyed lighting them as they reflect the true spirit of the festival. As it is, I am dead against fire crackers. This time also, the festival brought in some lovely surprise when I least expected in the form of extra money where I got myself a polo t-shirt, shirt and steel lota for Mom to perform her morning prayer.

This time Diwali taught me to slow down and didn’t do any work but lazed around for five days, including Diwali day. The joy of not doing anything particular, no pressure to work round-the-clock but just be with the self, doing yoga, long walks, reading my book and watching movies. Be the light, like they say.

Got the Rangoli sticker from the market. I want to learn how to make Rangoli but had to make do with this beautiful and colorful one since I lack the artistic skill. Wish that your life becomes more colorful like the lights and Rangoli this season.

The colorful candle lamps were bought last year but this time, I recycled it by pouring oil to turn them into lamps. The colors are very vibrant and we have kept it for every festive season till it lasts.

The mithai, candles, Diwali bags, Haldiram’s Soan papdi and Ganesha makes for a cool display in true Diwali spirit.

Wish you all an extraordinary year filled with sweetness, love, money and no dearth of anything from intimacy to liquor, like one of my friend’s jhakaas Diwali message. Be the light and happiness. Hope you enjoy the pictures of our Khushi wali Diwali at home.

Believe in your dreams and keep faith

Love

V

 

14 thoughts on “Diwali framed with sweetness and light

Leave a Reply

