#QuotedStories #4: Lost voice in the art of silence


This post is written as part of #QuotedStories  #4 hosted by Rohan and Upasna on their blogs. I choose to combine the two quotes to make it into fiction:

In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends

-Martin Luther King, Jr.

Silence is one of the hardest arguments to refute

-Josh Billings

 

Disclaimer: The post below is a work of fiction that doesn’t have the slightest bearing on my life and the people surrounding me. Trust me, I have broken up in the past with kisses and pain but on very healthy terms. Of course, my friends are the most wonderful thing that happened to me and am forever grateful to them. Truly blessed I am to have them in my life.

blog link up

#QuotedStories: Lost voice in the art of silence

It’s the story of my break up. I choose to stay muted and silent at the rocket of accusations flung on me. I stood there and faced the accusations that felt like sniper during war. My eyes conveyed sadness and hurt that spoke a thousand words. I choose silence as the weapon to defend myself. It was her choice to listen to strangers who wanted to drift us apart. I stood accused in the courtroom prosecuted and judged by her. Who says that I didn’t have any defense to put my best arguments forward? It was the silence. I choose silence to refute the balls of fire thrown at me. It was my best defense.

Don’t they say, silence is the best weapon. I let her speak for I was convinced that her fury wouldn’t subside. It was like the fire ravaging my soul. She would be satisfied only after ripping me apart, emasculated my dignity as a lover, man, and human. The hell-bent conviction to bring me down and insult me in front of everyone, my friends and her gang made her the victor. She hated it when her ego was bruised.

The weapon in her hand was my silence which echoed guilt to her eyes and the anger that rose and spiraled inside her. Every single thing that happened between us was brought in the open. But, I knew that she was going to lose her force and the anger that boiled inside her would be doused like fire. It’s my silence, right. There is no winner or loser in a relationship. The silence has empowered me and slowly, nursed the wounds, scars and bruise that cut and bled through my veins.

There was another reason for me to remain silent. It was not her. My friends who knew the truth. They choose to remain like mute spectators and it hurt me the most. Silence can be a weapon and sow the seed of destruction at the same time. Not that I need them as a shield to justify myself. Pack of lies was told. They were my own who knew the sacred truth but they chose to dishonor it. It was not their words that mattered but silence. It’s their right. It hurts the most when your own choose to be spectators when you are disrobed in an open court. They were my pride and ego. Their silence was the one thing that hurt more than she did. She was a victim of falsehood and manipulation. But, they were not. Not a single word. My friends! The weapon that pierced my heart and soul bore their names.

The gentle and still seas at night become stormy and turn into a whirlwind at the sight of the high tide to defend its occupants. Don’t they say, the high tide lifts all boats!

Love

V

17 thoughts on “#QuotedStories #4: Lost voice in the art of silence

  1. Is it based on your real life, it seems so…then i must wish a good life ahead and a good person who will trust you truly.
    I can relate with it very deeply coz…exactly what i have faced.

    • Hi Jyotimoy, I am glad that you could relate. No, it bears no ressemblance to my life as I’ve put a disclaimer…hehe It’s a pure of imagination and fiction. Not mine:) Thanks for dropping and reading. Have a good day.

  2. oooohh, Vishal – was sucked in to this – love the language and use of words- it brings out the emotions in this – sad and strong … at the same time. Yes, silence is sometimes the most powerful weapon.. Have a great weekend my friend, hope you are good

    • Thanks so much Eli for such kind words. Happy that this work of fiction kept you engaged. I enjoy silence from time to time and it’s very therapeutic for the soul. Happy weekend to you too:)
      Cheerz.

Leave a Reply

