#AtoZChallenge: Jet Speed

This post J for Jet Speed is written as part of  ‘Blogging from A to Z Challenge (April 2016). You can check related posts and alphabets down:

Letter I

Letter H

Letter G

Letter F

Letter E

Letter D

J for Jet Speed

It’s dark everywhere. Lights flashed on my eyes as lenses zooms in and out. I am running for my life zigzagging in the midst of horde of vehicles moving at jet speed and a plane closing on my heel. My heart is beating at pulsating rhyme. There is no stopping me. A voice inside me roars, ‘It’s possible. Run, Run, Run for there is a way out.’

The whole world is moving at jet speed above my head in the sky. There is not an inch of space as I almost fly in my shoes dangling in the air like the aeroplane, flitting at frenetic pace past buildings and vehicles. I stop for few seconds to visualize the entire scenery above the flyover with machines rotating and leaving no space for mortals to walk. No wonder, there is not a single space on the pavement and vast roads down as I look from above. I feel like a God observation life from afar moving in the cloud.

Tiny dots of lights are travelling faster than space ships in this world fascinated by ordinary mortals. I am no living soul right now. I find myself at the cross road of jet speed in a world where galaxies are moving in the fickle of time. I need to cross the waves of tiny lights wading at neck breaking speed and I am heckled, pushed by the waves of glittering lights. There are some unknown forces at bay and it feels like sea breeze as I lump my body forward that keep growing like a balloon at high altitude.

Striking little stars and magnets at the other end is calling for me and my inner sense propels me to reach out for them. I cannot even cross to that side to attain my destination. As I thrust my feet forward, the tiny stars zip ahead to shove past me and it gives me a heart attack. It’s now or never, I tell myself. My heart is beating furiously.

Finally, I take a leap and run with all my might to be stopped half way by the speed of light travelling past me. I stand like a statue, close my eyes convinced that they will hit me at any moment. It feels like vehicles zooming in speed at the highway and standing at the door of local train in Mumbai when another train flicks ahead, pushes your body with the strong accompanying breeze on your face and body.

Nothing has happened to me. I am still alive and I wonder whether death is better than braving those lights moving one after the other. I cannot stand like that for hours and it feels like the angel of death is calling. It’s nauseating. An unexplained and gravitational force pulls me and I defy the force, speeding up and flicking my body as if running away from the jaws of death. It seems they are not done yet. A bevy of lines in symmetry is blurring my vision and it feels like poles which are intimidating me like a foe hell-bent to destroy me. I keep running and throw my hand and body at the same speed to catch the stars.

I wanna leap in the air when the body is curled and turned upside down. A mass hit me on my face like thunder. I almost leap and dangle in the air when a cement pillar stood as a protective gear to save my life. I am wondering how on earth a slab would find its way to the sky but what I am seeing is horrifying. I am perched on the cement slab and see mass of vehicles down from afar. I feel dizzy. I am at the Bandra-Worli sea link and the very sight of a body almost hanging by the thread makes me weak. My body can be thrust down at any point of time and my hand is stuck on the metal corrugated fitting and what prevent me from falling is the concrete steel viaducts.

I hear the sound of a car screeching behind me. The crazy psychiatrist and Maya storm out to pull me out with forces and my hands stuck to the viaducts and metal steels. As I am ushered to the back seat, Maya caresses my forehead, “You are not too hurt, na. Are you ok? Gosh!! You’ve run that far to reach the Bandra-Worli sea link.” I am oozing blood.

The crazy doctor enthusiastically, “Awesome. It means my treatment is working. He sleepwalked right from time travel to the present…”

Maya is furious and her voice is blaring loud, piercing my ears, “Shut the fuck up, will you.” She has just rammed the psychiatrist who turns from eccentric to docile in no time.




  1. Pingback: ‪#‎AtoZChallenge: N for Numb | Vishal Bheeroo

  2. Pingback: A2Z Reflection: Tale of a survivor | Vishal Bheeroo

Leave a Reply

