#AtoZChallenge: I…was, am and will be

The post is written for the ‘Blogging from A to Z Challenge (April 2016). Today, I keep letter I simple for I…was, am and will be

I…was, am and will be

I am not protesting. I am not complaining. The soul and body system I am made of is attuned to this illusion called Maya. She takes me to meet this crazy Doctor, who is one of the best in Mumbai and honoured with awards in California. He is being over dramatic and asks me question in filmy fashion, trimming his unkempt white beard and long hair.

His mouth stinks of alcohol and Gudang Garam cigarette. I whisper to Maya, “You think this crack dude will help me recover my memory.” She taps my shoulder, “Go along, man and at least something good will come out of it.” He oscillates his body and raises his hand in the air to speak at first in a demure, calm voice but raises it passionately, “Sky!! I think I am clear. This superstar!! I gonna make him time travel to the past and defy the logic of gravity. But!! But!! I ain’t gonna tell them my name till I am successful. For now, it’s I…I was, am and will be.”

“Doc, everything fine?,” Maya tries hard to conceal her smile.”

He turns around and crawls towards Maya and me, twirls his eye and makes some weird sound. Now, he is scowling like a dog. He shouts to me, “Now lie on the bed. Close your eyes and relax. I am going to take you on a journey. You will time travel, boy.”

The crack Doc changes his tone from hyper to gentle. His voice suddenly turns into a jingle, “I’ll ask you about objects and tell me what comes to your mind.”

Ships, he asks.

“…sea…Konkoni fisher folks.”

He grins widely, “Good. Close your eyes and forget everything. You are not a superstar but a lifeless body. What was your last shot like?

I try to remember, Scent of wood.”

He runs his hand in the air and massages my face. “Good you didn’t say the scent of a woman Now, travel up in the sky. You are flying high and reaching for the astral planets.”

“Stop,” he shouts. “Who is that chick, the pop singer, who calls herself your girlfriend.”

I feel agitated, “I hate her.”

“You flung that chair with violence. Why? It seems you are angry with yourself and life. Ok! Never mind. Just pull your body and travel to the sky.”

I feel heavy and empty at the same time. Everything is blurred and dark like a spiral of black-clad demons singing and dancing. I float and my body is weightless. I am transported above mountains and hills. There are smokes everywhere. Foraying into a thick dark zone filled with thorns and wading through the sky, I feel the sensation of dim light flash piercing my head and soul. I am travelling miles but it seems to be a never-ending path.

Suddenly, I hear some scary voices on my heels. I got up and start running. I am sweating profusely but my legs are not stumbling. Some unforeseen forces are propelling me. The plane above my head is chasing me and I double the effort. I feel no sign of fatigue and the speed increases in the flick of time. The sound of rattling of trains pops at the back of my ear and swerve my way, dashing on the railway track. The speeding train is within inches of my body. It’s gonna hit me and I shall be dead…just a lifeless body ready to be dumped.








  1. Pingback: #AtoZChallenge: Jet Speed | Vishal Bheeroo

  2. Pingback: A2Z Reflection: Tale of a survivor | Vishal Bheeroo

Leave a Reply

