#AtoZChallenge: F for Face Off

This post is written as part of  April 2016.

Letter F for Face Off

I decide to face him. I shall tell him the reality on his face. After all, he has no right to jeopardize and screw my life like that. I stand in front of the mirror and fiercely look at him. “Who are you?” I ask.

A popular face on TV and film reels who has a horde of female admirers swooning after and kissing you like crazy. You know what? Today, I am You. Your female fans got loose and after I got off the car at the multiplex to launch the new Mercedes, some of them threw themselves to kiss me. “Jealous…why don’t you fucking tell…speak bloody moron…How does it feel that I am you,” I yell.

There is no reaction on his face. In fact, he looks like a slab of ice doggedly refusing to melt and makes me wonder how on earth he became an actor whom people call one of the most talented. Now, my blood is boiling. I am so fucking tired impersonating this guy every single day.

“I am you,” he finally speaks with arrogance.

I raise my voice, “You cannot be me, you understand that. It’s simple, let me explain. I do not know anything about You and secondly, I do not remember anything that you’ve done or how you perform. The truth is that I am a commoner trapped inside your body.”

His silence is killing me. I just wanna rip him apart. I am stuck. I want to run away from this world, his fucking film sets and the life he leads. He is standing like a statue. I raise my voice like a volcano, “You bloody coward. Who do you think you are? Till when you will use the mirror as a shield to protect you. Wait!! Wait!! You know what I will hit you with the hard steel on your ass and rip your skin.”

There is no expression on his face. I take the stool and break the mirror into pieces. Maya is unfazed and takes a long cigarette drag that she took from my pack. I turn to her and flick the tool in the air as if it’s some light object. I am tired and throw myself on the bed. She sits next to me and without batting an eye, pushes her lips on mine to make it a passionate smack. I am too shocked to react.

She winks at me, “You cannot even protest the smooch. You see, I am protected and they will say that you molested an 18-year-old girl.”

“I am not done yet. Have you been to Jamshedpur? ” she continues.

“Jamshedpur.w-h-a-t-s-t-h-a-t ?”  I stammer.

“You said it, right?” she presses her tiny body on mine.

I am at a loss of words and lost, looking at the roof top in the dimly lit room.

“Right! Tomorrow, you will tell your crew to add some scenes in an old factory in Jamshedpur. We will leave the day after!

“But !”  I protest.

She is adamant, “You never know. There must be some puzzle there. We must find that guy you so hate so much. The real Akhil Kumar, the star and not you, the imposter.”







  1. Ohh, the plot is twisted! But why is he being forced into impersonation. I wish he would enjoy it a bit….the celebrity life and all. But life is like that! Wonder what’s in store at Jamshedpur!
    Interesting Vishal!

  2. Pingback: #AtoZChallenge: Jet Speed | Vishal Bheeroo

  3. Pingback: A2Z Reflection: Tale of a survivor | Vishal Bheeroo

Leave a Reply

