Open Letter to Shri Amitabh Bachchan

Dear Amit-Sir,

It could have been a letter from a fanboy. Not denying that I am one. Cynics will cry hoarse and rubbish this letter as one from a fan to his favorite superstar. Perhaps, I will be labeled a blind follower or they’ll even allege that I am paid to write this heart felt.

I shall tell a secret: You must have received millions of fan mails. I wrote air mails to my favorite superstar as a teenager gushing on his acting skills and the dishoom dishoom style where you beat pack of villains. I waited with bated breath for your reply by post in an era where social media was inexistent.  I am sure you still receive loads of mails by post! I never got one but now we have twitter.

Google: Amitabh Bachchan singing the national anthem at Eden Gardens, Kolkata

I am bowled by your acting skills. After all, no one can harm you for Jahan Aap Khade ho jaate hai, line wahin se shuru hota hai. Unfortunately, sycophants are making a beeline behind you for the wrong reasons on social media. How many times I must have watched Shahenshah and aped your dialogues in front of the mirror, Rishte mein hum tumhara Baap lagte hai…Vijay Dinanath Chauhan from Agneepath or Tum mujhe dhoondh rahe ho aur mein yahan tumhara intezaar kar raha hoon.

The day India won the World Cup T-20 tie against Pakistan was a matter of pride for Indians across the globe and it’s something we would cherish forever. Sadly, the celebration was diluted by some people gushing about our win. They will recognize themselves. You know why, Sir?

Everything you do garner attention. Your sneeze creates controversy. Twitter is a very nasty business and you know it better than me, Sir. After all, you were rightly chosen to recite our national anthem before the start of the match. The country rose into one voice to repeat the national anthem. The sheer passion in your voice gave goose bumps to the nation and brought tears to our eyes.

But, cynics were watching closely and Twitter was their outlet to make malicious and false allegations against you like some did in Bofors case decades ago. History repeated itself. Bofors was one case that almost destroyed your life and nonchalantly questioned your honesty.  Your family suffered. When a court in Sweden declared you as innocent, I don’t remember many voice asking for forgiveness for the wrong done to you and your family-parents and children. Perhaps, forgiveness is too big a word for them and their ego.

One silly tweet, alleging you took Rs 4 crores to recite the national anthem was shared on social media and value judgment was cast to question your character. It’s sickening. You were branded a traitor and from a national hero, you almost became anti-national and anti-patriotic. When the truth came in the open, they were at a loss of words using whimsical arguments. Some even questioned why you forked Rs 3 lakhs from your own pocket, your hard earned money for your trip in Kolkata. It’s your money! Perhaps, you should ask them permission before spending your own hard earned money since they are now staking a claim. May be, that would make you a patriot and true Indian.

After all, why on earth should you justify your stand or actions to anyone? Certainly, not to me-one of your zillion fans  and an unknown face in the crowd like many, who swear by your movies across the globe. You are an actor, entertainer and performer. It’s none of my business as a fan or any cynic to question the means for your Roti, Kapda aur Makaan.

I remember when you were hospitalized in 20o5, ToI ran a campaign to wish you well via SMS. I sent a message. On New Year, I read a long interview of yours on Sunday TOI where you said you were touched by the love of fans and all messages will be framed on your office wall.  Or, painstakingly writing the names of all your fans on your blog and there are thousands who comment to thank you. It just made my day that my name will be on Big B’s wall. Sir, I can go on and on. Perhaps, one blog entry will not suffice.

Amit-Sir!! Once someone said on Twitter that we don’t deserve Mr Amitabh Bachchan and tweeple lashed at him. Looking at events that unfurled surrounding our national anthem or some useless person filing a ‘stupid case’ against you to gain mileage, I am tempted to say in a loud and clear voice, ‘Yes! We don’t deserve Mr Amitabh Bachchan’ Perhaps, I will be made fun of, called a blind follower or trolled on Twitter, abuse thrown on my face and called a dumb fan. But, who cares!!

Credit: S.P Balasubrahmanyam on Facebook

It’s shameful how some behaved by hiding behind social media and acted like ruffians to point figures at you or trying to find fault in the singing of the national anthem, I will say it again: We don’t deserve you. They might even say that the reciting of Jnana Gana Mana was all staged like countless reality shows on TV.  A PR exercise, perhaps. When Barkha Dutt, one of my favorite journalists, tweets that she got goose bumps watching you singing our national anthem, was it a PR exercise! She has also not been spared by disgusting people who keeps calling her all kind of names.

I will not deny the fact that I always wanted to be like you, My Hero and My Inspiration. I trimmed my hair to be like you and the barber had a tough time dealing with me. But, then, I cannot be like you and lack the human qualities that you have. You showed your wisdom when you tell us: “When you give attention to disgusting rubbish, you justify the purpose of the dirt .. cheap attention.” The court case by some useless idiot!! Let’s skip him.

Hope, I could ignore the slander, ridiculous complaints, and false accusations. I am flawed and lack the wisdom for I couldn’t hold myself in writing this letter to you. Yes, I am biased in favor of my favorite superstar. Perhaps, the letter was not needed for Amitabh Bachchan don’t need me to defend him!!

With love and respect



Leave a Reply

