In conversation with Privy Trifle: Love does exist

Interview: Namrata aka Privy Trifle

Metro Diaries is about love, imagining stories while staring at people in trains


Who is Privy Trifles? In the blogosphere you have stumbled on her blog for sure, where she regularly features Metro Diaries, a story about love, longing and deception in metro cities. Her book, Metro Diaries, which she describes as ‘Stories capturing feeling of despair, longing, love, lust, desire, want, dejection and admiration to create deja vu’. It’s about taking a walk down the memory lane to revive your innermost feelings and imbibe in you the magic of love. Isn’t love the most amazing feelings on this earth, one that makes you the most powerful person or the most helpless person in a split second? The book was released on March 4.

Who is Privy Trifles? Her real name, Namrata, which the blog will strive to decode in this interview. To quench your thirst, Namrata, is a prolific blogger who loves to romance life through her writings. She believes in the universal language of love. A columnist, she dons various hats, dabbling different roles from a contributor to 7 anthologies to blogger, author, reviewer and editor of the online magazine, Writer’s Ezine. An investment banker who until recently dabbled with finance, she obtained her true calling to embrace the love of her life, full time writing. Enjoy the interview as much as I did speaking to her in this hearty chat. Let’s share some love, ‘Metro love’ and get a copy of ‘Metro Diaries. You can check Namrata’s work on: Privy Trifles Official, Facebook. You can check out her novel, Metro Dairies here and on Amazon.


1. First thing first: Introduce to the blog readers’, who is Privy Trifles, no doubt a very successful blogger, columnist and author. Hey! Spell out the person behind Privy Trifles and uncover the veil of anonymity.

Privy Trifles was the name of my diary as a teenager. Having grown up on a steady diet of Enid Blyton, I wanted a name that was depicting secrecy and at the same time, was quirky. That was a time when there was no Google so I relied completely on Thesaurus and I remember spending days and weeks to reach out for the right name. So when few years back I started a blog, this name was the first thing that came to my mind. Just fresh from the fears of a cyber attack, I somehow wasn’t too comfortable blogging with my real name. And, hence was born “Me”, “Privy Trifles” or “PT”.

Beyond this, my identity is that of an ordinary girl born and brought up in a small town. I have grown up reading books since I can remember and till date, they are my best friends. I usually end up reading close to a hundred –hundred and fifty books in a year at an average.

The social pressure to have a “decent” career ensured I pursued my masters in Finance and ended up working for leading financial institutions in the decade long, work I can boast of now. Somehow, I feel this me and that me are like two sides of the same coin, you will never be able to connect one aspect of me to the other. *racking brains what else to speak about me!!*

Well, to tell more about myself – I am a trained dancer having learnt some 8 forms of dance and striving for some more. I have learnt classical music for 7 years (instrumental). I enjoy painting, sketching, clay modelling and photography apart from all of it. *phew* that’s it!

2. As its name implies, your book ‘Metro Diaries’ is about love in metro cities and captures the spirit of despair, lust and celebration of life. Is the book based on the mirror image of society and observations you made about individuals and couples in real life?

My job involved a lot of travelling for me. When I had taken to writing, I was also going through a lateral shift in my career as well. I had taken a huge leap in terms of the company, the job role and the challenges. And, it was writing which helped me settle down so nicely in it that eventually I went on to win the outstanding customer Service Award in my company.

It was somewhere during those travels and testing times that I learnt the art of reading people. Metro Diaries was born in those long nights spent in trains staring at people and trying to imagine their stories of life.

Basically, Metro Diaries is a segment on my blog and the stories are of varied genre. It is in this book that I have brought out the stories about love. For, I feel today we all need gentle reminders that love does exist and that life is beautiful, despite its ugliness and murky side.

 3. You celebrated four years in the world of blogging. Tell us about your journey, right from the time you started, initial hiccups and now where you are a celebrated blogger. Your blog also reflect observations about small things in story form you make about life and how close are your characters to real life?

I began my journey as a blogger in 2011. Back then, I was completely unaware about anything related to social media, not even Facebook. So for the first 6 to 8 months, my blog was a secret. Gradually, I used my best friend Google which lead me to Blog Adda, Indiblogger and various other blogs. Reading those blogs and commenting was a huge learning in itself for me. I learnt so many forms of writing through those blogs and polished my own skills.  My initial hiccups were limited to knowing the blogosphere in details.

My Facebook account was created on the 1st anniversary of my blog as I wanted to participate in a contest and it was mandatory to do go through Facebook. (I did win that contest J ) My second tryst with social media was my Twitter account and my Facebook page was my third!

As I told before, my main intention of writing was to bring a smile, touch a heart and make a difference – all the lessons that I share, personal experiences and observations are of the ones which did that for me and I share them hoping it does so for the reader too. Most of what I write on my blog is inspired from real life, very less is fiction. Like, the tag line of my blog says Memoirs of Me – where reality meets fiction.

I would say you are being too kind with words when you call me a celebrated blogger.  J

 4. You are also an investment banker. Would you call it a trend, right from engineers and bankers, to jump the bandwagon of creative writing? Were you always interesting in creative writing and when was the first time you started writing?

 Ha ha J in all the interviews I gave till now, I was wondering why no one came up with something like this. I appreciate your observation!

I recently read a book called ‘Yuva India’ by Ray Titus and to answer your question, I would like to quote something from it. The author has mentioned that this generation, the young/ Yuva India is stronger and the ability to take risks is higher in them. They want to explore the paths which are less trodden rather than be of the herd mentality.

You are right a lot of engineers and bankers are becoming authors but, so are   people who yet to make a career. Writing is their first choice. This clearly indicates how times have changed or perhaps are changing. So, I would say people like me realized our true calling in life, perhaps a little late but nevertheless we still have the zeal to give it a shot and explore what it has to offer.

I am born in a family of poets. I have 12 members in my family who are published (in regional languages or otherwise) so if I would like to flaunt then I should perhaps say writing is my genes. *giggles*

Jokes apart, I wrote my first poem when I was 11 years old since then till very recently, I believed I could be a good poet that’s it. Nothing more or nothing less. Blogging opened the floodgates to other possibilities like short stories, fiction, nonfiction, photography, editing etc.

 5. Do you think it’s a tough call for creative writers-cum-bloggers to take a risk to author books by giving it a full time shot or work by the day and write by the night?

 At the end of the day, all that matters is your passion. The decision to do it full time or pursue it by night can be made only by you and nobody else.

I know a lot of people who have quit full time jobs and are pursuing this profession while on the other hand, there are many who are juggling more than one career just to ensure they have a steady flow of income. I guess it’s a clear case of to each his own, as both do justice to what they love doing and it reflects on their work.

 6. How often do you write in a day and what has been the entire process of writing ‘Metro Diaries’ in terms of sketching characters, drafts and proof reading? How often do you write and what time of the day your creative juice flows best?

 I write a lot for it involves emails, reviews, notes, editing Manuscripts etc. But, yes, writing in terms of stories and all happens usually very randomly at the spur of the moment.

Metro Diaries never seemed like “writing”. The characters were never planned as each story is a real life story and all the characters are drawn from real life. One of the characters is ME, and NO I am not telling you which one. If you are able to guess who it is, then please do let me know J

I enjoy writing during the wee hours during the morning, somehow, I am at my best at that time. Some posts have been written in dreams and I just wake up to directly type them in word. I write very regularly as for me it is more of an outlet than anything else.

 7. You are also a reviewer for branded publications such as Penguin, Leadstart and Jaico as well as a columnist for Estrade, dabbling into freelancing. Does freelancing pays well enough for a creative writer to make a living?

 To be honest, freelancing at this stage doesn’t pay me well enough to make a living. But yes I definitely know a lot of freelancers who are able to do well for themselves after facing initial struggles. For more, it was more about learning, exploring newer avenues that lead to this.

Like being a reviewer is an extension of my love for reading and being a columnist is my love for the written word. And as they say when you do something you love, the sheer joy of doing it replaces everything else.

 8. Are you a die-hard romantic at heart, whose words echoes your personal vibration with your entourage and which shows in your writing?

Absolutely! I am a die-hard romantic at heart, someone who believes in fairy tales and happily-ever-afters. This does make a lot of people feel I have seen life’s ugly side to which I always say I have, maybe very closely but I choose to ignore it and appreciate the beauty. In life, everything need not be perfect but if it makes you happy then it is perfect for you!

My writings are a close reflection of my thoughts – I am a highly optimistic person who loves life and lives every moment. And that is exactly what I believe shows in my stories as they smell of hope, love and joy.


  1. Such a wonderful interview Vishal! I have learnt so much about Privy.
    She is a ‘celebrated bogger’ no doubt.
    I love her writing and she is an inspiration to me.
    Please keep sharing more of your work with us Privy. 14 published authors! No wonder your writing strikes a cord!

  2. I know herrrrr. . Well from the blog that is and I must say each time I visit and read the metro diaries I am always impressed..

    One of the best bloggers I visit and read..

    Helooooooooo privy. …

Leave a Reply

