Illusion of the mirror


I face my identity, stark and naked truth of life.
If mirror could lie,
 life could have been a bed of roses, chucking the grim reality.
Today I stand face-to-face with the soul,
I wanna run away from my past and present.
It’s a grim reminder of the murky me, getting dragged in the mud.
why does reality need to be so painful?
Refusing to let go is the biggest fallacy of human life,
Yet why we cannot confront the self image?
I can see the devil facing me,
the weak inkling of character that boast of being resilient to the adversities thrown by life.
The mirror has stopped making sense,
I want to destroy all of it.
How many mirrors can I destroy?
Will it be sufficient to run away from it?
Today, I lost control of my self, thoughts and actions,
The mirror echoing the self is an illusion of a reality that never happened.


  1. As I read the lines about wanting to destroy the mirrors, it occurred to me that when things don’t make sense or we’re frustrated, we rarely look at ourselves. (The mirror just reflects what is) so we go about destroying evidence of what we don’t like rather than looking within to confront it.

Leave a Reply

