Finishing line…It’s December

It’s the time of the year where one pulls off the sock and hark back to the many moods, moments, victory and upsets that manifested itself to take center stage and dominate every aspect of life. The upswing, read challenges and little upsets marking the times and life of the self. Guess! I gotta pen an auto-biography of my life: Times and moments of Life. But, then, who would be the least interested reading the juicy tit-bits of my life which verges on the boring and mechanical aspects of my existence in 2014!

As we reach the finishing line of 2014 and we have still days to go till December doffs its hat, guess I haven’t said the last words like the dark horse that eventually wins the race. Pardon my indulgence. This is the time of the year that I normally look up to give you a peak of the few days characterizing my life.

First things first, I am work-in-progress and to be bluntly honest, I am struggling at work to prove myself. It always happens with me that I need to prove myself at every nanosecond of life and I feel like lying on the hospital bed, struggling between life-and-death. A fresh challenge in the same and ole’ industry. Hell! It’s a magazine, something new for me and rocket science would not be an exaggeration. For someone who is at ease with newspaper kinda writing, weaving words for a magazine is like playing a new tune and different ball game. So, in-between keeping calm and reasoning with the self that it shall be done, I feel like a student, praying to clear his exams. I so wanna sing, ‘Hum Honge Kamyaab, Hum Honge Kamyaab, Mann Mein Hai Vishwas Poora Hai Vishwas Hum Honge Kamyab.

It’s the time to buy stuffs for the self. Nah! Nothing beyond the ordinary a la Krish or wishing for Jadoo, still better Harry of the Quiditch School of Magic and pining hope for a secret broom to turn dust into gold. How I wish I’d win the jackpot to afford the holiday, right now put into the back-burner. Holiday! O! Holiday! Next year, this time, I shall fly my way to heaven, sitting in the sky and holding the migrating birds in the palm of my hand. Itchy! Hand palm.



I am just figuring what are the stuffs to buy and what not to! I am resisting the temptation to splurge and avoid going dutch in January. It doesn’t make sense to go on a shopping spree. I need some books, though, the diary to set a date for January, special issues of magazines and what’s not! yeah! I need a new lap-top bag, something more spacious to put the machine and other stuffs, read lunch box, book and the diary. It’s a pain carrying two bags on the way to office, the shoulder cannot afford so much burden, you see. Oh! Santa! Be gentle to me, see I’ve been a good boy, at least, tried too, not wriggling my way too much to be over-ambitious with freebies.

Image credit: Google




Ah! The usual self, some friends been getting hitched this December and like always, giving it a miss owing to the oceans and see Saat Samundar Par, I am not doing. I feel my bachelorhood is being constantly challenges by the pals storming on my turf. Chillax! I am not falling sway to the world of Grihasthi and honeymoon so soon. See! I am standing my ground.

It was the rarest year where I missed so many good flicks in theatres and visited my favorite past time hardly thrice a year. I missed movies like Haider, Happy Ending, Finding Fanny and so many, munching the pop corn in a laid back fashion. PK is coming and no power on earth shall prevent me from hopping my way to the theater to watch the trio of awesomeness, Raju Hirani-Amir Khan-Sanju Baba weaving magic on screen.

You must have heard the whole thingy doing crazy rounds on FB and social media about reading more than 30 books in a new year. Yeah! I can safely vouch for that, print and e-book but the only thing I didn’t earmarked the names of the books like the virtual world been telling us to do. I finished the absolutely fantastic And The Mountains Echoed By Khaled Hosseini and started a rom-com going by the name ’20 And Still a Virgin by Ankur Dahiya. Give me a rom-com,, any day. Who can beat the fun! And, to tell, Paulo Coelho’s Adultery is waiting for me. Few more books to buy to kick star the new year and here I am. Speaking of books, I was able to beat the fear of reading e-books, starting with the 100 pages wala and achieved the rare feat of finishing another 350 pages novel. Baby steps of beating the blues to reach an elixir, not yet there but shall arrive.

Watch out for few more book reviews before we say good bye to December. It is being a totally mad, crazy and freaking end of year that started at a snail pace at an age where the post office is almost dead. Looking forward to bury the hatchet, oops the past. So you see, nothing really exciting in my life, though, I am longing to be by the beach, breeze and sea waves to sip beer.






Leave a Reply

