A rebel stomped @#WillYouShave activity, BlogAdda

I’ve been tagged by Anmol Rawat and romspeaks for this post, written as part of his post is a part of #WillYouShave activity at BlogAdda in association with Gillette.

The itchy sensation wafts through the air. The unkempt and disheveled hair I’ve donned since the past four months made me a perfect recipe for disaster. A tale of a homeless beggar in Dolce and Gabanna specs, expensive Levis Jeans and crimson yellow-cum-intricately designed, Pepe Jeans London tee. The super hot chicks in college smirked at me, giving the look, “Get a shave dude. This is a high five college and no place for buggers like you.” I am enjoying being a misfit in college. In my mind, I was being a rebel and it doesn’t matter I have no cause. Viva Che Guevera! Listening to Sadda Haq every now and then.

Little did I realize that my life gonna change in the next 24 hours like thunder knocking and rocking my rebellious streak out of the window. Pujari Sir summoned me early morning in his office, “My daughter is reaching Pune at 5 a.m. Can you pick her up? I will be busy with lectures.”

I gave him the why me look. He understood, “Don’t worry, she is just a rebel like you and is not soo high on looks. Though, she likes cleanly shaven guy. So sending you to pick her up is not really risque for me as a father. The hunks will drool over her and she being with you would mean I will be at peace with myself.”

Pune station was filled with commuters swerving their way in and out of the station. I ordered a cutting chai from the tea vendor and lit a cigarette, looking furtively around. I skipped a heart heart beat when I saw Nikita, dressed in black tee and blue denims. I scampered towards her and muttered, “Pujari Sir sent me.” She unabashedly looked at me with a oh! as we hailed the rickshaw. As we reached the teachers’ quarters at Fergusson college, she thanked me. She walked towards the flatlets and stopped in her track, to cast a wicked glance at me. “Oye! Wait.”

I thought she was offering money to settle for the rickshaw when she removed something from her handbag. “Here,” she handed me a Gillette razor. I was confused. “Don’t think, too much. I just broke up from my boy-friend and stole his razor, depriving him of all female attention for a day.”

The next day, the rebel hang over went for a toss outside the window and I sported a clean shaven look. I met Pujari Sir and asked for Nikita. “She flew to United States for a year,” he told me. I wanted to kick myself. I uploaded my new pic on FB with the tagline, “This look is for someone who reminded me that great gals love clean shaven guys.”

PS: This is a fiction story and any incident is purely a coincidence.

I am tagging:

1. Sid Balachandran

2. Aayesha Hakim

3. Jensy George

4. Soumya Mukherjee

5. Roshan Radhakrishnan

6. Ananya Kiran

Here, striking the gender balance with the tag. Feel free to tag yourselves if you wish to.

Topics for Guys:

  • Missed chances- Stories or instances where you missed out on an opportunity because of a non-shaven face.
  • Luck or Confidence?- Will you leave your fate in the hands of destiny or will you step up and say yes to a well-groomed face to be at your best everyday? #WillYouShave.
Topics for Girls
  • An instance when a stubble came in the way of a man’s chance to make a good impression.
  • An instance when a well groomed look ensured that they struck gold on an opportunity given to them.


Leave a Reply

