Big B @ 72: My Amitabh Bachchan moments

What does one churn on the most memorable megastar and superstar of the decade? The one who gave millions  fans across the globe, priceless memories & dream to live for! Seeing him standing tall and towering in every single frame is an experience that movie lovers not only revel but long for! That’s Amitabh Bachchan for you and me. The mention of his name send fans in frenzy and tizzy of sorts. The heart gyrates to a million beats..Dil Dhadak raha hai, aaj bhi, usske naam sunko! The Shahenshah and Sarkar of the Hindi film industry, the man who makes million of Indians nurture dream of cracking the Gold pot in every episode of Kaun Banega Crorepati.

My Amitabh Bachchan moments! The bond that we share with the man, something non Bachchan-alia could never understand. An inspiration! Reciting his father’s rendering of Madhushaala to my generation, oblivious of the works of the great stalwart, Dr Harishvansrai Bachchan, is the real icing on the cake. Bachchan-saab enthuses passion and makes the poetic rendering of Madhushaala an ongoing romance that captures the imagination like breezy words whispered in the ears, offering warmth and solace to the heart.

As a  90s kid,  I grew up quite late on Bachchan’s movies which I watched on TV and, occasionally, Dad would treat me to the movies showcased at the humble theater, minutes away from our house. In the late 80s, I was introduced to  Aakhri Raasta-love it coz his double role fascinated me; Shahenshah-the epic lines, ‘Rishtey Mein Hum Tumhare baap Lagta Hai and his costumes simply delighted me. Simply love this super hero movie; Agneepath-Vijay Dinanath Chauhan became my favorite movie for a long time till Black came.  Remember Dad took me to watch Main Azaad Hoon-the kid in me couldn’t make sense of this ‘boring’ movie whose brilliance I could only understand as an adult and student of cinema. How I wish I was born in this era to witness the frenzy created by stellar performances in Don, Deewar, AAA, Kala Pathar, Sholay and Zanjeer during the 7os!

I was stepping into teenage years in the 90s at a time when Bachchan was taking a break from his acting career. The fan in me borrowed money from Dad’s pockets to buy the audio cassettes containing dialogues of Hum- Jhumma Chumma De De and Tiger-was a dream to live for. Saving the hard earned but paltry pocket money to buy posters and magazines like Filmfare, Movie, Stardust and Cineblitz, featuring Big B on the cover. The scissor would find its way, cutting pictures and articles of Big B with his leading ladies that would find its way in the flip files that I have neatly conserved till date. Or! The post cards of Amitabh Bachchan! I have a huge collection of them.

The Bachchan of 90s was a luxury, the time I almost stopped watching Hindi movies on the silver screen. There was no AB in movies and if one was lucky, the superstar’s interviews would appear once in a blue moon. It was a luxury for die-hard Bachchan fans. There were new heroes, the chocolate boy Amir Khan, the anti-hero Shah Rukh Khan or lover boy Salman Khan, Ajay Devgn or for that matter, the new emerging superstar, Sanjay Dutt, who won hearts in Saajan and Sadak. It was the most amazing decade of 90s where memories movies were made with the new heroes, the Three Khans whose songs and simple, romantic movies altered the business of cinema. No doubt, I enjoyed these movies where one would swear by falling in love with cute girls. But, none of them came close to the charisma, magnetism and persona of Amitabh Bachchan. He was my hero, my God.

As a 90s kid, the filmy magazines I bought with my hard earned pocket money was confiscated by Mom because I was not studying and I was on the verge of crying several times. I would lift some extra coins from Dad’s pocket to buy airmails, sending countless letters to my hero, declaring my undying admiration for him throughout the year. The address was diligently written to the sender’s at Pratiksha Bungalow in Juhu. But, somehow, I never got a reply. I waited with bated breath and decades later, I got a signed autograph. Divine justice, like in the movies. Today, I got a signed digital autograph from Amitabh Bachchan on Twitter. I shall mark 11 October 2014 for it compensates the years of longing for my superstar’s reply. It made the day special.

The Digital autograph Big B sent on my Twitter handle today.

The Digital autograph Big B sent on my Twitter handle today.

This is my story of Amitabh Bachchan, the hero of the masses who became One with his audience who could relate to his pain, heart break, laugh with him and we feel like beating the villains ourselves. Over the years, Bachchan was no longer the hero, romancing his leading ladies and donned a new avatar, the suave KBC host and the rich, mature gentleman with shades of grey. There is no doubt that it was and is one of his most successful second inning, experimenting with different roles in the changing tide of cinema, whether Black, The Last Lear, Nishabd, Eklavya, Cheeni Kum and endorsing dozens of products or standing tall like Friend Philosopher and Guide on KBC. The fan in me still identify with the Vijay of 70s and 80s, the cleanly shaven guy who would do everything to woo his audience. Call him, one-man industry! I don’t care. So be it! This is my Amitabh Bachchan, my hero and inspiration.

A very Happy wala budday to the man, the friend and philosopher. Bachchan made me love movies and taught me what hero worship is all about. 72 is the new 27 for Bachchan. The man has not said his last words and hanging his boots is not for tomorrow. Amitabh Bachchan has not given his best and it’s yet to come. I strongly believe that there is a stellar performance lurking around that shall be way bigger than Zanjeer, Don, Deewar, Agneepath, Black or Paa! A performance that shall make the milestones he created for more than 40 years pale in comparison. May be with a brand new director. Bachchan fans are waiting for this new milestone. Sir! We are waiting for the next one.

I am having a Special Amitabh Bachchan weekend, blogging bout AB, watched Don and will watch Agneepath during the night and, of course, listening to AB songs, proudly wearing my KBC T-shirt. Party toh banta hai boss!

With Love

Die hard Bachchan fan



    • Well said, Sir. History of cinema can never be written without AB who is still making an indelible mark. His name must be written in Gold. WoW! Shahenshah been one of ma fav child movie…met him during Bade Miyan and Armaan shooting..he’s the epitome of humility and don to earth and that’s why he is getting more & more popular with time in relation to his contemporaries.

  1. Mr. Bachhan and Rajesh Khanna were and are my dad’s favorite heroes, which was why he allowed me to watch movies in my 90’s days. He is worth all the humble, so down-to-earth (I am speaking as if I’ve known him for years ;))..but I’ve watched so many interviews and chat shows..the favorite one was “Bachhan family on Simi Grewal’s Rendezvous” !
    The digital autograph is amazing man.

    • Both are legends in their own way who made memories and gave such priceless gifts in terms of treasure trove of acting and films. The history of Hindi cinema cannot be written without the name of AB. That’s what makes him so popular, the love he has for his fans and endearing and his mass connect. I’ve never had an occasion to watch the show but guess, will catch on KBC.
      Absolutely love the digital autograph and it’s awesome. thanks, loads.

  2. What a brilliant tribute to one of the greatest actors of all times. Even at this age he has stolen the hearts of millions. His dialogue delivery, action, dancing… Just love his style. I love reciting madhushala🙂

Leave a Reply

