Happy Raksha Bandhan

Wishing all of you a very Happy Raksha Bandhan. To my Raakhee sisters in College, Aparna and Ritika. We are not in touch nowadays but I want you to know that I cherish the moments. You never made me feel that I don’t have a blood sister. To Pratibha, who tied Raakhi to my hand. My sister that I found on the blog and Facebook, Gauri Kekre (http://mindbrewblog.wordpress.com/), I love you loads.

I didn’t tie Raakhee for the past two years. Over time, I am led to believe it is the thoughts that matters the most and I believe that a sister doesn’t need a protector (Rakshat) because she is so strong as a person. Unfortunately, patriarchy lead us to believe that the female form need a protector in the form of a male, read, brother.

I woven a poem to put on my Facebook for Rakhi and copy and pasting here for Raksha Bandhan:

A moment of pure and self less love;
Bonding between brothers and sisters,
we don’t need a day to show much our heart beat for each other.
Every year, our bond is cemented.
For many like me, who don’t have siblings,
we meet so many soulful brothers and sisters in this amazing journey of life.
Happy Raksha Bandhan.
It’s less about Raksha and more about love.
A woman doesn’t need a Rakshak  (protector) but a brother who will love her the way she is, let her grow in her quest for freedom and growth as human being.
This is my definition of Raksha Bandhan, liberating her from the shackles of patriarchy and tradition.
Keep the faith for a better society.

With Love to all brothers and sisters.

Leaving you all with some nice Raksha Bandhan songs.

Happy Raksha Bandhan





Leave a Reply

