Blowing my trumpet and tit-bit from my life


It’s been an eventful June and July seems to kick start on a roll to make the real icing on the cake happen. A month full of writing and publishing, aha moment read surprises taking me by storm, and of course, the super awesome budday bum online. I never had it so good despite the small hitch and glitch. Snippets from my life and here you are:

When Google wished me Happy budday

When Google wished me Happy budday

-June 24 was my birthday and was floored by super awesome wishes, wine bottle surprising my heart and distant phone calls from old chums. Yeah! I got a birthday cake for myself and celebrating with Maa and Me. Meghna and Koks coaxed me to get a cake, doesn’t matter if it’s only with Maa and Me. After dilly dallying, I went for the cake along with a candle. The funny thing: I misplaced the candle and spent an hour to find it lying somewhere near the tooth brush on the small shelf opposite the bathroom. If you think, we were done, you are wrong. I tried to click a selfie with Mom and the cake but since I am so lame at it, I successfully failed and even the I-pad camera was not helping. I need to master the tricks and the time I was wrestling with the camera, the wick was gone on the candle…no chance to blow. Yeah! Google wished me happy wala budday.

Treating myself to Pineapple Genoise cake.

Treating myself to Pineapple Genoise cake.

-Dad’s budday came on July 28 and had be been alive he would have been 72. He would always take pride that we celebrate our birthday, same week and same month.

-On the birthday, an aha moment struck and met the new owner of the former company where I left last year. If everything goes well-I know it will-I will make my comeback. As they say, fingers crossed.

-Reading has taken a kinda back seat and I am reading for the second time Chetan Bhagat’s Two States but I am quite slow on that front. Otherwise, after a kinda lazy break, I am back writing my rom-com novel set in Mumbai and I’ve reached 90 pages, take it upon myself to reach 10 more pages to breath easy. Lotsa writing on the plate, as you can see, I am penning a mini novella on the blog and three more chapters to go. It’s my first on wordpress and do lemme know how to convert Microsoft word into PDF.

-Speaking bout writing, it brings me to the news, I am taking part in July UBC writing challenge for one full month where I am doing a novella with Orkut as the back drop. Orkut been ma first love and tryst with social networking, when it was announced that Google will close it down on September 30, it lead to heart break. Hence, making the novella. I am making an appeal to all of you: Like you have supported this blog for a very long time, do give some love to my other blog where I am participating in UBC challenge. Here’s the link:

http://vishal-newkidontheblock.blogspot.com/2014/07/chapter-2-orkut-love-story.html

-The July special issue of http://www.theindian.trumpet.com came on the market and it’s an e-zine where I am a contributor. We celebrated one year and two of my interviews, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan and Anant Singh, creative head of Golden Kela Awards appeared.
Golden Kela_Page_1-20140701-031126

-I’ve been nominated by so many wonderful bloggers friends for some love, read awards and it’s been quite a while, to sort them out. Here’s it:

Aniruddha: http://anmolrawat.blogspot.in/2014/06/another-liebster-award.html

Anmol: http://anmolrawat.blogspot.in/2014/06/another-liebster-award.html

Soumyaa: http://callitatale.blogspot.in/2014/06/the-liebster-award.html

Anu: http://duskyisbeautiful.blogspot.com/2014/06/the-liebster-award.html

Thanks a loads for the awards and do give them a shout.

With love and loads of it.

V

PS: Don’t forget to tune in the evening coz chapter 6 of love, break up and coffee will come up:)

24 thoughts on “Blowing my trumpet and tit-bit from my life

  1. Firstly belated birthday wishes, V. Hope you had a great day. Secondly, so many wonderful things are happening in your life. Glad to know you are writing at breakneck speed. All the best and enjoy every moment of this awesomeness ! 🙂

      • I will..I was planning to at some point but owing to financial melt down, changed the plan..looking at Emirates next year before being back to India:)

      • oh come on.. Look buddy you only need to worry about travel tickets if you plan for uk .. Rest is all on ME.. promise ..

        You know My best friend here, he is 10 years younger to me and we became friends because he is from my old school and i got to know he was wanting to come to uk, he came over and stayed with me and rest they say is history .. he has shifted to uk permanently and we are best mates now even though he is so younger then me 🙂

      • Thanks Bikramjit..that’s so good and selfless of you offering to help..touched ma heart. Hey, do lemme know if u have some contacts in UAE..planning to move next year and in the media. WoW! Offering to help an online friend when we’ve never met individually is so touching.
        U’ll go places my dear friend:)

      • oh come on .. its nothing .. chillax..
        I will enquire about UAE.. we do have a ablogger friend who lives there and he is in media too .. I will send you his blog link and you can take it from there

Leave a Reply

