WoW-Today is the last day of your life



This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda. This week’s inspiration is:

So, what would you do if you are told that today is the last day of your life? Will you hurriedly attempt to do everything in your bucket list or would you retrospect about life up till now, instead? Your blog post should start with the line, “It is 6 in the morning…”

Today is the last day of your life

This is a WoW selected post by Blogadda

This is a WoW selected post by Blogadda

It is 6 in the morning and my body grows like a balloon, spread on the bed as I wiggle on the cot and the excruciating and unbearable heat is slowly possessing me. The lips grew stiff, the cheek is burning and I am desperately bating for breath in the unusual hot temperature in the room boiling at 180 degrees. Slowly, my world grew blank and saw angels swirling seductively in front of me and holding my hand. It grew dark and I passed out.

We steam roll in the funky Ambassador car, flying in the air and whizzle past the mountains and clouds as a guard opens the flood gate where people are busy working on their laptops. I nod my head but met with scorn, pretending I don’t exist. I am thrust on a sofa made of snow and I overhear a hissing and chuffed sound. I see a black and giant chair as the person’s back facing me. A grave voice thunders, “It’s your last day on earth and my assistants are working on your file. You can do whatever you want to do, live your dreams, open up your heart with the loved ones. You may go now.” It signals the angels to usher me back to earth.

I slowly open my eyes and the event keeps coruscating with a sparkle at the back of mind. “What the fuck…I just traveled in the cloud, the world of angels, ball of snow, Gods’ office is nothing less than a corporate suite splayed in the air where inmates steps doesn’t hit the ground. I look around and see the curtain in the room fluttering and leaves flowing in the room, browbeaten by the furious wind. I try to speak but realize my voice is lilting. Fuck! Bloody Chutiya! WoW! I am swearing but I don’t care at the new uncouth me since it’s my last day on earth. I slowly walk inside the kitchen and smell the perfume of my favorite Custard caramel flowing. I hug mom, “I loove you, Mom. Today, I feel blessed to be born to you and I am special for you carried me in the womb. You are the best Mom in the world. WoW! My favorite Custard. How do you know what I love. What a parting gift.” Mom is confused and ignores my love, shrugging it off as a silly joke. I con her to plop the spoon full of custard cream in my mouth and I walked away from her kitchen.

I call the bestie and we spoke bout’ college days, flawless life in Mumbai and Pune, reminiscing on the perfect days of life, the crushes, heart breaks, our teachers and the time we cried over split milk and howled with laughter. I make her promise to live my dreams coz I am going on a mission and hang up with a, “Phir Milenge, some other place and in a new life. I’ll wait….” She remains silent, wondering what’s wrong with me.

I wear my best Sherwani and Pagri and dash to buy myself, the most expensive Titan watch and my favorite Parker Pen. I will die in style and better not whine or shed tears on bed during the last moments. Time to e-mail the girls I couldn’t pluck up the courage to propose, writing flowery love letters, declaring in style how beautiful they are, how the heart went dhak-dhak seeing them, wrote few lines from my best poems and chocolate. I seal the envelopes and slink in the letter box.

Finally, time to write the book anthology and I know, I am short of time to write a full book, time to pull my socks and doff my hat at life in four chapters. I skitter my way and time to write the obituary bout’ life and performing my own funeral. I spread flowers on the floor and put the garland on my neck. I perform the rites, fully conscious, that it’s time to go, mumbling words I’ve heard in people’s funeral. Yay! I’ve just performed my own obituary while living.

I waggle towards the lap top and log on Facebook, updating the status: ‘Alvida people, keep rocking’, before deactivating my account. I huddle on the bed,proud and grateful to be born in this world as a privileged human being. I close my eyes, waiting for my angels to surround me, disconnecting myself from ties of blood, friendships or otherwise. It’s been a beautiful journey. Time to go now.





  1. dying in style haan? good take on the prompt vishal🙂 why waste tym brooding when you cant avoid the inevitable ryt? but i can only imagine what follows next if god says u get few more days extra as there was a mistake in calculation😀

  2. Hey this was an interesting piece Vishal! I particularly liked the part where you wrote to all the girls who you never dared to propose! I mean, how many people would actually do that if they know they are a few hours away from death😉 Sweet gesture. Loved reading this thoroughly🙂

  3. Well, at least you bore allegiance to your dignity and courage, I would have driveled and twaddled after waking up, making a complete nincompoop of myself. I’m a bit of a somnambulist and I’ve been responsible for situations in the past. Don’t know what this nocturnal visit to heaven could have brought out of me.😀

Leave a Reply

