Guest post on Y for Youngistan: A to Z Challenge

It’s Day  25 of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge and honestly speaking, I didn’t know that I’d be able to live up to the challenge and do justice. I am happy that I stayed till the end..wait one more post to go and the most difficult is letter Z. Well, we will get to the last alphabet in another day. In short, it’s been a fulfilling and superbly creative journey where I lived to tap on the grey cells for ideas on ‘College Memories’, my theme. Superbly creative, fulfilling journey where one gets to meet so many amazing bloggers around the globe and it’ been taxing. I am looking for  a break from blogging post Day 26.

I am happy to make new friends on the blogging space as the whole days wane away by thinking of creative ideas, visiting blogs and replying to comments. I lived for the challenge like so many did and made it their life and, as they say, …the challenge became your oyster and it did for me. You know the icing on the cake, Priyanka, a fellow blogger and participation of A to Z featured me on her blog for alphabet V. It gave me such a huge high and doubled my motivation to do better. Trust me, it can be a huge motivation to be featured for the challenge and the kind words weaved by Priyanka makes me grateful but I don’ think I am worthy of such kind words.
Do give Priyanka a shout on (
I am amazed how she comes up with beautifully interwoven words that makes poetry sensual and ongoing romance that warms the heart. Wish I could write like, the way she weaves magic and infuses life in her poems.
Let’s jump straight to Y challenge. Today, I host Bhakti for a guest post, Y for Youngistan. Who is Bhakti? Being 18 and engineering student in Pune who grew up in Gujarat, she oozes writing and finds her mojo in the written words. Enthusiast, fun loving and chatter box 24/7, moves over NDTV, Bhakti is the one who will blabber constantly and has an opinion over almost everything, life, love, politics, family. A sharp observer with a heart that debates intelligently and with a whiff of passion, Bhakti loves life, enthusiast writer who is still daddy’s girl as her blog suggest. Bhakti is also an enthusiastic journalist for a well known newspaper in Pune where she regularly contributes in the youth column. Visit her on
Y for Youngistan
By Bhakti
A week back, on one of our usual chats, we discussed about the ongoing A-Z challenge, the posts already published, liked and the ones that were left. Vishal and I discussed about his posts on V,W,X,Y and Z. We both got stuck on Y. I mean how many words are there that begin with Y. And to add to that, what possible thing is there in PUNE that begins with Y. Notice how I am saying “thing”, coz we just could not come up with anything that began with Y. At the most, YMCA, but neither of us have been to that place or even know where it is located. That put both of us in a quandary and all of a sudden Vishal had this Eureka moment and felt I should write a guest post. It was 3 in the night and I actually thought he must be really sleepy to suggest that. I mean, common. Forget the fact that I did not know what I should write about, here, I had never written a guest post for anyone and have no idea how it works. I agreed after thoda bahot bhav khao-ing.😛, And here I am.

Honestly, I don’t remember how I came across Vishal’s blog. But a few comments here and there later, we were already discussing few serious topics which turned hilarious for no reason. (He was/is supposed to teach me French but somehow it never ever comes up in the Gchats!! )

Maybe it was because of his immense love for Pune and my neutral view about the same. Maybe the similar view-point of prioritizing development and maintaining a city’s culture connected us. Or, Fergusson college?

Although FC was never my alma mater, quite a few of my classmates ended up attending it. Consequently, I too have a few memories of FC. Yeah. Anyone can just walk in there. No one really cares who you are or whether you really belong to the place.

Back at FC, most of the things are still the same. Kimaya is still synonymous with every Fergussonian. More than 70% of the classes happen outside the class than inside. Except for one thing. Savera shut down and broke a million hearts. No one except a Fergusson student can describe Savera better and I will leave that to Vishal.

But that’s not what I wish to talk about. I am no newsreader giving updates about the city. 

You can, if you wish, group me in the so-called Gen Y. But every person here is different. Each of us has our own mind set and perception. Some of us cling on to the old school of thought and many are open-minded. Few like me have mixed the best of both worlds and are surviving pretty well. We have an opinion about everything. You want us to talk about our career plans, economics, finance, stock market, relationships, drugs, drinking, you name it and we are here. 

You may find us enjoying life to the fullest and it may seem that we do not care about our future but if you look deep, we are a bundle of nerves trying to find our comfort zone. Often, we look naive but we are not. Trust me when I say that. We may have no idea how the “real world” is but we are sure ready to work it out right to carve a niche for ourselves. 

Our parents feel that we give too much attention to our friends and less to them but they are equally important to us and their views matter to us way more. 

We may or may not join the politics to change the country but we silently, in our own ways, are doing a bit for our motherland. The Ivy Leagues sure attract us, but once we are done there, we return to employ the same methods for the development of our country. Moolah matters but we won’t hesitate to leave behind a high paying job to teach in a government school.

You can often find us in the virtual world. Label it as a means of escape for us. It sure is. I admit it. It gives us a huge ego boost when someone “likes” our photo, even if it’s false praise. Here, no one actually judges us for our views and we can be what we are without having to worry about the world. 

We may often try to put ourselves as a really strong person. But maybe we are not. We are under constant scrutiny by everyone and that leaves little time for us to be “us”. We may often be confused about a major decision one moment and gulp down a few drinks the next to get over that frustration.

We may often shake our heads at Eminem or hum “Yo Yo Honey Singh’s” latest songs but secretly, we also listen to Kishor Kumar and Lata Mangeshkar. The “Twilight” or “Vampire Diaries” is not even comparable to Premchand and Tagore’s works.  

Atheist or not, we will still accompany our parents to their yearly visit to Shirdi or any other place of religious importance. Because it makes them happy. 

We are not as complicated as we seem to be.  We might as well be the best of friends if the constant nagging is stopped. Perhaps, what it takes is a lil bit of understanding that our life is not just bout’ All Play and No Work or, let us be the way we are coz our individuality matters. Yeah! It doesn’t make us self-centred but, remember, Every Generation has its Rebels and we happen to be one. We are true, Youngistans, capable of change in the Lok Sabha elections, but it’s another thing that Government and Opposition are capable of hiding information coz they fear our honest perspective or healthy debate. Let us evolve and we shall prove what we are capable of achievingJ


  1. Pingback: Youngistan | Life- As I perceive it

  2. Lovely post! Bhakti, the thing that worries me when I see some of the crowd that came after my time, is that they are too impressionable. They do have the energy n the enthusiasm but not the wisdom or the knowledge required to make a right choice. Have witnessed many such events where the enthusiasm of the youth were being churned out for a very different (politically motivated or not) agenda which they were and probably still are oblivious to. Would like to know whether you feel there is an information gap missing, which should b provided to you? Do you think the youngistan generation has a voice but the voice lacks depth?
    I have seen youths jump into rallies without being concerned of the agenda. Do you think im wrong in believing that there should be a guide… a neutral one, who could let young India understand the bigger picture?

    • Hey Priyanka
      I actually agree that we do not have the right amount of wisdom and knowledge and often end up taking the wrong decisions. But that’s what makes us different. We are not afraid to make mistakes and let that bother us. Instead we would rather pick up the pieces and go for it again.

      As for the information gap,I don’t think it exists. The problem is there is way too much information available but not what is required ( most of the time). The misinterpretation or wrong information can also lead to the wrong decision.

      Yep. I really think we need a neutral person/organisation that will put forward just the right thing in the right places. For example,when Arvind Kejriwal and Anna Hazare were in the same team and the protest for the Lokpal Bill was in full swing,I too jumped in without an ounce of idea about the Lokpal. I wish someone informed me what the whole ruckus was about. And after reading a lot about that,I realised this is not something that I believe in,the way of propagating their idea or even the bill itself. It’s just not strong enough to work in a country like ours.

      • Exactly my thoughts Bhakti, on the Jan Lokpal Bill. I was flabbergasted when I saw everyone around me jumping into the protests without doing any homework. I guess, we all should contribute and come up with an open forum or a website, where intellectuals or professionals can answer the questions doing the rounds of emerging minds, in an unbiased way.
        Even the media hype goes beyond the realm of professionalism these days. To provide knowledge, and not just bits of information is what we should first strive for, before asking youths or for that matter anyone to give their opinion.
        I haven’t read your blog yet, but you do have a strong voice lady. Just don’t forget to make it count🙂

      • I really like that idea of a forum/website. Maybe all the bloggers could give the opinion considering we all are from different walks of life and also engage the best in the concerned field.
        I agree. Doing the homework is necessary.
        Thank you Priyanka, And I most definitely will🙂

  3. I always have an interest in knowing what the young Indian mind/heart is thinking or feeling or pondering upon. So I am glad I visited your blog today, Vishal for this very interesting post by Bhakti. As you know I am certainly no gen Y or X or even W…whatever that means. I am in my late 40s so my views may seem a bit outdated to people in your and Bhakti’s age-group. But let me share some thoughts anyway🙂

    Let me first say that I very much value and appreciate the various things Bhakti is saying here about how people in her generation are trying to find a right balance of the old and new, traditional and modern, conservatism and progress, and other such things. And I am happy that she says that many in her generation today are doing this sort of a discovery and balancing in their own special ways. Yet something in me continues to feel a little bit of discomfort as I see too many of youngsters being taken in by the “entertainment, entertainment, entertainment” model of today’s market-driven commercial age which has coloured almost everything including our festivals, family gatherings, customs, traditions, news, politics, social activism, even language we use for writing articles/books/newspaper columns – you name it. This reduces everything to simple and simplistic, often a one-sided and very narrow presentation, where everything is presented in a way that will help generate more circulation, quick fame, and greater visibility rather than serious and deeper thinking, awareness and understanding. And unfortunately young minds are not encouraged to dig deeper, probe further and question what is being presented to them through the “media-created” images of events, people, happenings. Even the dichotomies like what is old and what is new, what is traditional and what is progressive – are not being questioned by many youngsters, at least in my observation. But I don’t blame them entirely, their older generations are in some way more responsible for this problem.

    Like I said you youngsters may find my views/observations “old-school” or outdated or obsolete, but I think that there is a problem when we start looking up elsewhere for inspiration and insight, and sadly too much of that is happening these days thanks to a hugely commercial mindset (often presented as a “globalized” view) guiding every aspect of our modern lives – including mass media, publishing industry, travel industry, hospitality industry, everything. All this in the name of “Flat Globalizing World”. As I read somewhere recently, what has globalized really is only the capital, cultures still remain very rooted in a place. But unfortunately too many Indians in their enthusiasm and naivety jump too quickly to adopt anything that will make them more “global” which results in gradually becoming uprooted from their own cultures. To me, this is very worrisome and I would hope our youngsters (I don’t like to use the word Gen Y or Youngistan or other such thing – like I said I am a bit old-fashioned and don’t like to really “play” with my language that much🙂 take note of this alarming tendency and try to resist such onslaught of commercial, utilitarian, mechanistic, even nihilistic view of life being sold to them on big discounts by the Coke, McD, Hollywood, NYT, Cosmo, LV, DKNY, Reebok, NBA, IPL, Ford, BMWs, and all their siblings and cousins.

    Wow, this has become a very long comment. Vishal knows how wordy I can be🙂 So I stop here and congratulate Bhakti for this very good write-up. I may disagree with some things, but I leave that discussion for some other time. Well done, both of you – our hope for India’s future!

    • Hello Sir.
      Thank you for your wishes and am actually glad that there are things which you disagree with.
      Your views made me stop and ponder where are we youngsters headed to. And not to forget that I was nodding my head all the way.

      I think we have always been aping the West and taking in the wrong things instead of the right. The globalisation,as you said,has gradually led us away from what our roots are. Yes,we youngsters will attend the Diwali pooja and then click photographs only for the sake of uploading it on Facebook,Instagram or whatever. We have stopped understanding or even trying to understand what our traditions stand for,what we as a country stand for. It seems “cool” for some people.

      The media is too to be blamed for this change. It hypes up things for no reason. As for the market-driven age,I feel it’s coz of the ever increasing population which has led to the increasing demands and the consequent promotion of the products. But.the increasing population,too,cannot be helped. As one of my classmates said in a discussion,that population control is not in our hands.Coz people are going to do it anyways and you cannot actually stop them,no matter how much one wishes to.

      I remember a conversation with my father a few years back about the ever increasing use of the internet and he said that we youngsters do all the research on the internet and limit our views only to the topic at hand,but before,when the internet was not there,one had to go through many books and jot down the points of importance. Even if that was time consuming,it ultimately led to the increase in knowledge of that concerned person.
      Now,in the name of fast paced life,we have forgotten what it is to read through various books because we are basically getting spoon fed. Maybe the internet is spoiling us. We are forever online. FOREVER. That again is considered to be cool. Why? I do not know. I don’t like the idea of communicating to someone who is sitting next to you via WhatsApp. People actually do that.

      On the other hand,there are many youngsters who are coming back to our roots on,when they have travelled the world and realise that even if India has a few setbacks,it is in our hands to change those setbacks in our biggest strengths. They modify the systems employed in the West to suit in our traditions and beliefs for the progress. And I think no step is small on the road of actual development of our country.

      There are so many downfalls that we youngsters still do not realise. And I know that whenever our elders try to tell that to us,we often snap them and say they do not know anything. It’s sad because life often teaches us things that the internet does not.

      • Hello Bhakti,

        Please no “Sir” business. If you must then “Ma’am” might be more appropriate in my case🙂 Or you may simply call me Beloo, like everyone else🙂 Thanks for your detailed reply, I appreciate the sincerity and an open-ness to question/explore in your words. Yes, these are some big issues with no easy answers – the influence of the media, the pull of consumerism, going away and coming back to the roots etc etc…I think many things are responsible for the present state of things in our society – our mainstream education, irresponsible media, government apathy, lack of proper policy framework, lack of implementation of rules and laws, corruption, greed, public indifference, and many other such things. None of this can change easily, and will probably not change much in the coming future. The only hope is that we as individuals, no matter which generation we belong to, take it upon ourselves to change, starting with ourselves, our attitudes, our habits, our ways of thinking, our ways of learning, our ways of relating to one another…we can begin with asking questions, thinking as independently as possible, not buying mindlessly into what we are being told by anyone. That’s the only hope, I think.

        It has been wonderful interacting with you and I wish you the very best as you pursue your dreams and goals, for yourself and for your country🙂

        Please visit by my blog sometime, if you are interested. I wrote a whole series on Indian Education for the A-Z challenge. So that’s why I am very interested in what the young people of our motherland are thinking these days🙂

        Beauty Interprets, Expresses, Manifests the Eternal

        Oh and I love your blog name, saw the main page just now. Not only I too am Daddy’s girl (ok not so little anymore), but I also have water lilies on my blog cover image🙂 Coincidence? Naah…🙂

  4. You are (all) troopers who did this challenge, well done! You deserve a good break🙂
    I think the Gen Y get a lot of slack for being lazy, wanting and expecting too much – but it is a very intelligent generation. There is so much to keep up these days (not just keeping one job) and well the future is in Gen Y’s hands!! Nice post and great use of ‘Y’

  5. Hi Vishal, and Bhakti. I must thank you Vishal for bringing Bhakti to write a guest post on your site. Bhakti, the views of youngistan , though unconventional in some respects, makes very interesting reading.

  6. Vishal and Bhakti, wonderful double post. I appreciate and agree with your summary of the A to Z challenge Vishal. I thought I would give up after the letter B but I have stuck with it come hell or high water until this day. Bhakti thanks for sharing your perspective on the Y generation. I know many people from that generation but have never heard them described so succinctly.

Leave a Reply

