B for Books: Live and die for books

My love affair with B for Books reached a heightened passion during the college days where everything is up for grabs on  the roadside. I went mad shopping for books on the busy streets where all kind of cheap books are available and my stop remained JM Road on Deccan just after Archies gallery. After all, don’t they say, books are the best friends of a young students surviving on pocket money graciously given by parents?!

I love walking all the way past the college gate, Fergusson College (FC) Road till JM Road where a fantasy world was playing live and came for cheap. I would lap on the back paper books sold on the streets for peanuts as I lived Kingsize my fantasy world, be it fiction, motivation books by the likes of Dale Carnegie or anything that suits me. I still remember the famous book stalls in the open, just after Archies, teeming with activity where student and book lovers alike, will be seen haggling to get books on steal away prices.  Opposite Archies, one would fish for other books and you can be the lucky one landing five books for 200 bucks. The next stop would be Crossword where some special discounts were going on and for 250 bucks, two original books would make way or Buy One, Get One free.

I still remember buying the biography of Amitabh Bachchan penned by Bhavna Somayya for 350 bucks at Book World at Sargar Arcade where the owner convinced me to buy it since the next week they will increase the price to 1,000. The book freak that I am grabbed the book which I enjoyed reading during first year. Another cheap buy was ‘How Opal Mehta got Kissed’ for 60 bucks on the pavement just outside Mc Donald on JM Road. I still have a luggage full of books lying at my friend’s flat in Mumbai and she’s been after my life to pick my treasure trove when I move back to maximum city.

The occasional trips from Pune to Mumbai was spent buying books for 40 bucks or even, 25 bucks outside Churchgate station on the pavement and would head back with stack of books in the bag. Ouch! It hurts the shoulder as I had to change hands alternately to manage the heavy bag filled with books throughout the journey as soon as I got in and out the famous, Deccan Queen train or Pragati Express.

B for Books. I live and die for books.

Day 2 of A to Z April Challenge. I write for the April A to Z Blogging challenge under the theme, ‘College Memories. Today is Day 2 and alphabet B finds its way.




  1. What can I say, you hit the right chord there Vishal with the book buying, most of my memories of different cities is about buying books, the bookstores, the libraries and the footpath filled with books.. rain or sun .. book buying always will remain the best B

  2. my passion during my college days were cheap russian books – i still have most of them with me! God bless the publisher that sold them at a dime in burdwan book fair! I used to spend all my money in that one bookstall (not much though… but every penny was returned in million folds)

Leave a Reply

