Mumbai Musing (6): Old world charm and icon of the past

Rim Jhim Gire Saawan, beautifully rendered by Indian nightingale Lata Mangeshkar and filmed on Amitabh Bachchan and Moushumi Chatterjee is the perfect ode to the Indian Monsoon. The iconic song renders a vibrant tribute and hymn to the city of Mumbai that reverberates through the soul. It touches the heart of many and speaks of the city in 1970s which is so true to life. I mean, I have not known the muse Mumbai at that time, an era I was not even born. The shots of maximum city got me thinking what it was to live in that era that celebrated the city in all its myriad colors, shade and moods. Truly, heaven as one spot the iconic buildings in SoBo (South Bombay).

Google India

Google India

Bombay..Bombay rains. Rim Jhim Gire Saawan makes me fall in love with the city over and over again. I am so curious to know how it was to live in old Bombay which became Mumbai in the late 90s. Mumbai or Bombay, the feeling of love and longing never change for souls who fell in love with the city. The best part of the song is that it was entirely shot in SoBo, Marine Drive, Churchgate and the iconic Rajabhai Tower at Fort. It’s a beautiful ode to Sobo, in particular, Churchgate, which I’ve been a proud resident. The posh locality, peaceful but serene surrounding and trees on C Road as cars dash their way in and out of the city.

Mumbai is an emotion. It doesn’t matter whether you stayed there in 70s, 90s or 2006 or 14′ but the feeling of belonging to the place remains strong  and, as I look back, I can’t hold back my tears. It’s a celebration of life in Maximum City. I mean, the 70s was a far cry from what Churchgate is, no mad frenzy of human seas and less crowded. One can easily walk at leisurely pace and less rush. The place looks so peaceful. Very few people and less vehicles spotted in the song. Guess! The city has been aptly renamed, ‘Maximum City’ now.


I feel a rush of adrenaline as I saw the camera zooming past Churchgate to Nariman Point, double decker buses, iconic Rajabhai Tower and Marine Drive in old Bombay. I can imagine life in 70s and feel the flavor of the city I made my home. SoBo is the celebration of life as I remember traipsing my way to study at Fort and gush at the iconic Rajabhai Tower, jumping in the red double decker bus, black and yellow cabs, taking long walks at Marine Drive. The city makes you imagine life you haven’t been lucky enough to witness in the 70s, the struggle in the city where you could make it if you got the pace.

Mumbai buses

I love the sight of the old ambassador cars that people would drive in the city and how happy I would be to spot the classic cars that makes the charm of the city. A city that retains its old world charm whether it’s 70s or 2000’s as you spot the old British architecture and feel the magic spun over the decades which remains strong and true to itself. As I watched the song, Rim Jhim Gire Saawan, I couldn’t help feeling wave of nostalgia and saying to myself, ‘I’ve been there, done this and that in Mumbai.’

The mood and moments of the city that witnessed a huge transformation is felt inside the heart as one watch the song and spasm of emotion displayed. I am so dying to get feed back from Mumbaikars who lived in good old Bombay in 70s and 80s. Come on, ladies and gentlemen, can’t wait to hear from you. Spell out your Mumbai experience and life.



  1. I was born in the 80s. But yeah stories that my mother and father told me of the old Bombay were colorful enough for me to draw from. My mother grew up in Girgaum and my Dad moved to Wadala in his teens from Goa. They met and fell in love while studying at T. N. Medical college. Even today when we go to that area, I can sense a feeling of nostalgia in my mother’s eyes. Must have been really awesome🙂

Leave a Reply

