‘Not Just a Love Story’: Feel the Love


Happy Valentine Day to all the lovers & singletons like me. I am writing a short story for the special occasion of V-Day hosted by Write Tribe. It is Rumi quote on which the prompt is based.

Listen with the ears of tolerance! See through the eyes of compassion! Speak with the language of love! ~ Rumi

Hope you like my story. Wish you all a lovely Valentine Day and make the most of it.

With Love



‘Not Just a Love Story’: Feel the Love

I walked past the crowd that thronged Marine Drive in the sunny evening where couples were holding hands, sitting on the paraphet stealing passionate kisses. Couples were holding hands and smiling happily to each other. Marine Drive was crowded and it was an unusual day as men tendered red roses and chocolates to their lovers. I miss having someone. After all, we just broke up yesterday.

I walked for 15 minutes and was sweating profusely as I reached Chowpatty beach. I saw the moral police shouting at a young couple who were kissing  exchanging gifts, flowers and berating them in Marathi for polluting the Indian culture. In the morning, my gang of friends called me for a special Valentine outing at Goa but I chucked the invitation, saying that I already have plans with my girl friend. I lied. They didn’t know that we broke up. I didn’t want to spoil their Valentine celebration.

I removed my shoes and walked bare feet on the sand dunes at Chowpatty. There were happy couples on the beach, smiling and whispering sweet nothings into each other’s ears.  I walked in the sea water  and splashed water on my face. I breathed deeply to feel the love spread around me. I was, surprisingly, not sad when I should be nursing my break up. I was truly happy for the lovers, could feel their love and emotion expressed through the eyes.

There is no better joy than being truly happy for strangers who spread love and positive vibes in the atmosphere. I was lighting a cigarette when a girl suddenly walked towards me. “Hey, do you mind if I borrow a cigarette from you?” Her beauty sent waves of ecstasy inside my heart and soul. I was struck by her refined simplicity, dressed in a white salwar kameez and the sea breeze  fluttered her long hair.

I offered her the box of cigarette. “Happy Valentine Day,” I said. She sported a bright smile and said, “Same to you. Let’s walk, na.” I mustered the courage to ask her, “You are alone on V Day? I mean, I expected a beautiful girl like you to be with your boy friend.” I flirted with her. She looked at me with a sad face as she puffed the smoke. “He doesn’t think I am attractive. What a bastard he is! He was having an affair behind my back. That too with my best friend. I caught them red-handed in his flat.” She took a pause and said, “Now, I don’t know why the fuck I am telling you all this.”

I gently touched her on the shoulder, “You know, I broke up yesterday and wanted to spend some time alone, walking at the beach to enjoy the breeze among romantic couples.” She sobbed in my arms. I bent and gentle kissed her on the lips. She kissed me back. We walked for some time at the beach and crossed the road to head towards CCD. We ordered coffee and I offered her a rose. She looked around and suddenly reflected, “You know! Let’s not give our relationship a name. Let’s appreciate the beautiful feeling called love and feel it inside our heart.” I was confused. She smiled and said, “Have you read about Rumi? I looked at her with a straight face. “Read his quotes about love and you will get your answer,” she pressed my hand.



  1. Unrelated to the post… here is something from NY Times that might interest you:

    A study called “Egalitarianism, Housework and Sexual Frequency in Marriage,” which appeared in The American Sociological Review last year, surprised many, precisely because it went against the logical assumption that as marriages improve by becoming more equal, the sex in these marriages will improve, too. Instead, it found that when men did certain kinds of chores around the house, couples had less sex. Specifically, if men did all of what the researchers characterized as feminine chores like folding laundry, cooking or vacuuming — the kinds of things many women say they want their husbands to do — then couples had sex 1.5 fewer times per month than those with husbands who did what were considered masculine chores, like taking out the trash or fixing the car. It wasn’t just the frequency that was affected, either — at least for the wives. The more traditional the division of labor, meaning the greater the husband’s share of masculine chores compared with feminine ones, the greater his wife’s reported sexual satisfaction.

  2. Your post brought a bit of nostalgia with Marine Drive and Chowpatty. I don’t think I would be so brave to walk off with a stranger. I guess love sees with the soul not with the eyes. All the best Vishal. Nice prompt.

    • Whenever I write about Mumbai, Marine Drive and Chowpatty, it brings nostalgia to the heart considering I stayed at Churchgate just opposite Marine Drive for 2 years. The story is the figment of one’s soul that I left there, Suzy and thanks a ton. Love ur words, love sees with the soul and not the eyes:) Tanku:)

  3. well, am not much in favor of public display of romance…holding hands is alright but necking and petting in India where people mostly move around with family members of multiple generations is a nuisance…🙂

    there should be some parks dedicated to lovers only and there should be boards outside them… that is the least one can do for lovesick young old lovers… but public display of emotions and embarassing others… :p

  4. Just to let you know that I was here – over a year late – but I’m reviewing the entries to make sure the results of this contest are announced finally. My apologies for the inordinate delay. Keep writing, Vishal and thanks for giving us this quote!

Leave a Reply

