Wednesday prompt 2014-5: She Looked Most Beautiful

Shiva Kapoor came with this super creative, ‘She Looked Most Beautiful’ for the Wednesday prompt 2014-5 and I am penning a poem based on a real relationship for this week. It couldn’t come at a better time. Give a big shout to Shiva on

I can’t wait for your feedback and constructive criticisms.

She Looked Most Beautiful

Image downloaded from Google India. Due credit to where it belongs:)

Image downloaded from Google India. Due credit to where it belongs:)

She was upset. She was fighting against the mirror image of society.

It was her parents who berated her for fighting against the marriage.

She was being forced to marry the guy she never met.

They were going to meet on the day of marriage.

Still, she couldn’t say no to them but has already said no to me.

She couldn’t find the energy to mount a battle against them.

Her energy was at an all time low and was completely drained.

She wore a battered look.

Destiny took precedence over everything.

I wanted to push her to the edge.

After all, it’s her life and her happiness mattered to me.

She couldn’t resign her to her fate and blaming it on her destiny.

I was getting worked out and increasingly angry.

After all, it was a relationship I believed in and was ready to fight against the whole world for our happiness.

We may belong to different religions,

but our love would overcome and conquer all differences.

Lil’ did we realize that the end to our relationship came.

We never grow apart but it was time for us to call it quits.

We sat on the bench at the university,

She wanted to cry and saw the disappointment on her face.

She was hurt.

I wanted to hug her, whisper in her ears, ‘I Love You’ and kiss her passionately.

I didn’t.

She looked most beautiful.

I turned my gaze and walked away.

I never looked back.

How can someone look so beautiful in moments of pain and agony?

With Love



  1. Hi Vishal,

    First of all, superb flow of thoughts, and I appreciate your linking up the thoughts in a coherent fashion…
    Clarify this for me, ” she was being forced to marry the girl she never met”- is it a girl, or a boy, here ? I’m asking because, I don’t want to lose the real meaning intended by you, that’s why🙂

    Looking forward to reading more ! Cheers !!

Leave a Reply

