Teaser Tuesdays (January 7)

teaser tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!




The ancient Asura empire lay shattered into many warring petty kingdoms reeling under the heels of the Devas. In desperation, the Asuras look up to a young savior Ravana. Believing that a better world awaits them under Ravana, common men like Bhadra decide to follow the young leader..But even when Ravana succeeds spectacularly, the poor Asuras find that nothing has changed for them. It is then that Ravana, by one action, changes the history of the world.

My Teasers:

No 1: For thousands of years, I have been vilified and my death is celebrated year after year in every corner of India. Why? Was it because I challenged the Gods for the sake of my daughter? Was it because I freed a race from the yoke of caste based Deva rule?

No.2: The strangers were leering at my wife now and I could feel her trembling. I scrambled up and threw my arms protectively around my family. The devils hauled with laughter. ( Bhadra, Page 45)

–ASURA-The tale of the vanquished, The Story of Ravana and His People by Anand Neelkanth.


  1. well, Ramayana was a story written by the follower of the winning party🙂

    I am not a worshipper of Ram as maryadapurushottam, as for Ravana, dont know much about him barring the fact that he kidnapped a gorgeous woman like sita, held her captive but did not outraged her modesty.

Leave a Reply

