Music-Festival of Words-Day 4

I am taking part in The Write Tribe Festival of Words December 8th – 14th December 2013. The Theme for today is Music and I am coming up with a short story, ‘Hitting High Musical Notes’ and hope you like the prompt as you have appreciated my work since the start of the festival. Constructive criticisms more than welcome and feel free not to spare me:)

vecchio libro con stilografica

Hitting High Musical Notes

It was his best musical performance on stage and little does he know that it was going to be his last song, composition and execution on stage. It was three hours musical extravaganza where his audience drooled over him as he hobnobbed with them and teasing them to sing along. The huge crowd gathered at the stadium as the enemies and friends frowned with jealousy. After all, he had no right to reach the pinnacle of success and to be loved so much.

As he struggled his way out of the auditorium among the frenzied crowd, a beautiful girl approached him for an autograph. He couldn’t refuse as it was his best day on stage and he was thinking of the international music contracts and sponsors worth million rupees and dollars. As he took his pen and signed the autograph on the CD, the girl gunned him down with a gun, intelligently hidden inside the CD pack bearing his label. He couldn’t recognize her and collapsed on the floor. She vowed and took her revenge on him for breaking her heart.


Six months back, she fell in love with him and gave her everything-love, identity and body. Music was her soul which she bore to him when he was introduced to the high notes of music. He was the first one with whom she shared the best song of her life, ‘High notes of a love story.’ One fine day, her musical note mysteriously disappeared as her career was destroyed. She was on the verge of poverty as she lost everything, her love, trust and passion. Today, she saw his poster and he sung her composition and she decided that he will not get away with her high notes where she spent day and night composing and churning the musical beats. He would be famous but not remembered for long. She got her revenge and lil did he realize that stealing music of a passionate artist means sacrificing a life built on lies.


I cannot live without music and it’s an aphrodisiac to my state of being. I spend hours downloading and listening to songs that makes my heart flutter with human happiness. Who doesn’t love the sound bytes that makes our day become super efficient and joyful? I love all kind of music be it romantic, pop, peppy, foot tapping numbers, spiritual and classical. I just need music to the ears as it soothes my nerves and is such a stress buster.

As a kid and a young student, I couldn’t burn the midnight candles before and during the exams without listening to some damn and super fun music. It makes studies and learning more fun as would blatantly fail to study without the high musical accompaniment.  I have grown up on Hindi music and I am totally hooked to the songs in the Indian continent but, from time to time, I enjoy songs from the west, like I am gaga over Lady Gaga, songs of Michael Jackson and music greats like Beethoven, A R Rahman and Lata Mangeshkar. For instance, I fell in love with James Blunt You Are Beautiful when the once current girl friend woke me up and started singing the song on phone in Mumbai. As it is, MTV Coke Studio is here where there are super awesome songs being aired and it provides much fodder to the musical high notes that I am ignorant about. As they say, no soul can remain unmoved at the belching out of musical compositions.



  1. Record writing times were always my music time and at times when I become highly insomniac.🙂 was never much into western n MJs…. but now having a teenage bro at home I’m forced to listen to them. But have to admit I do enjoy some of them🙂

Leave a Reply

