Running away from the shadow


The poem/post in written for ‘Hemmingway this Wednesday’, a prompt provided by Write Tribe. I choose the quote, “You can’t get away from yourself by moving from one place to another”, which I found to be inspiring.

Who was Hemmingway?

Ernest Miller Hemingway was an American author and journalist. His economical and understated style had a strong influence on 20th-century fiction, while his life of adventure and his public image influenced later generations. He won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1954. He published seven novels, six short story collections and two non-fiction works. Three novels, four collections of short stories and three non-fiction works were published posthumously. Many of these are considered classics of American literature. ~ From Goodreads

What a colourful character he was – a journalist, a soldier, a prize fighter, an adventurer, a lover….. He sought to experience life in all its colours – travelling to new lands, and experiencing various kinds of lifestyles.


write tribe

I moved countries and cities to run away from my shadow;

A shadow plagued by failures and insecurity,

I no longer wanted to be that person that was harked by a gloomy and messy past;

I choose to run away from life yet I was oblivious that I was running away from myself;

All I wanted was to start a new life in a new city and country where nobody recognize me;

It would be a new beginning and I would be re-born in a new avatar;

I was obstinate to erase my past and pretend it never existed;

Inside the body, I was battling emotions and fighting with myself;

Yet, the emotions resurfaced and the past keep coming back reminding me that the ‘other’ person never died,

he was just sleeping soundly;

Every time, he woke up, I wanted to destroy him and put to rest;

He constantly reminded me of my past and I wanted to run away;

But where?

A soothing voice whispered into my ears,

“You can’t get away from yourself by moving from one place to another.”

I had to come to terms with it.



  1. Thanks for the info on Hemingway, didn’t even know half of it😛
    Loved the post Vishal. each of us try to run away from something, some realize that one cannot run away and make peace. They are the ones who remain happy

Leave a Reply

