100 Words on Saturday-7: I Knew It Was My Last Day There

I am participating in the WriteTribe.com prompt, I Knew It Was My Last Day There for Saturday 100 Words on Saturday-7. The prompt is provided by Sugandha of Shades of Life. Do visit Sugandha on http://somethings-sugandha.blogspot.in. Hope you enjoy both my short stories.

Write exactly a 100 words on the prompt and publish it on your blog – a story, a poem, a mini-essay. The linky will be open right up to next Friday. 100 Words on Saturday will be up every 1st and 3rd Saturday of the month.





Nimbu Paani and a heavy heart


I handed my examination papers to the invigilator after writing lengthily for three hours. I walked out of the examination hall with sadness as I KNEW IT WAS MY LAST DAY THERE.  My heart was crying as I spent three most wonderful years of my life at my alma mater, Fergusson College. Students were discussing the paper inside the campus. Later, we walked past the college gate and crossed the road towards the hotel. We hugged our friends, exchanging e-mails and promising to be in touch. I sat with a friend as we ordered Nimbu Paani (Lemon water) for the last time.


Far away From My City


I ordered coffee at the airport and my heart was heavy, I Knew It Was My Last Day There. I am leaving the city where I left my heart and was sitting alone at the airport lounge. Two more hours remaining to stay in the city that taught to me to run against the tide of time and almost everything. How I wish time will remain stand still! I entered the plane and luckily, found my seat.  It was time for take off and I gulped one whisky. I could see my beautiful city from high altitude.


Leave a Reply

