My Hero, My Inspiration, Amitabh Bachchan

Stars and actors may come and go every Friday at the Box Office, but there is only one superstar that has the capacity to not only weather storms but rise above the flame and it’s Amitabh Bachchan. Today, the Big B and Shahenshah of the film industry celebrate his 71st birthday and his birthday is an event to celebrate where fans, young and old, gather in front of his house to wish him happy birthday. Every time he acts, be it the movies or Kaun Banega Crorepati, Amitabh Bachchan has set the standard so high that it makes it difficult for his contemporaries, young and old to follow.

I am a self-confessed and die-hard Amitabh Bachchan fan who has grown on his movies. Amitabh Bachchan spells magic and he has been one of my biggest inspiration in life for his professionalism, dedication for his work, perseverance and how he rose like the phoenix  from the ashes every time he was down, be it the failure of his production company or near fatal accidents. This is a lesson young people like me should follow and every time, the going gets tough, I try to remember how Amitabh Bachchan must have approached the tough times in life and not only survived the battles of life but came back with a bang. This is success for me. Nothing succeeds like Bachchan.

As a kid, I remember collecting his postcards and press cuttings of articles of his articles that I have kept in a file. I met him for the first time when he came for an event to promote his film Hum and all the kids were eager to meet their favorite star. When he took the stage, police were barricading the stage with batons and he signaled them to remove the kid. Once the barricades were removed, the kids throng to meet their favorite superstar and he shook the hands of all kids. What a feeling! I still remember, shaking the hand of Amitabh Bachchan was like a dream coming true. Years later, I again met him during his birthday when he came to a theater and at that time, I sported a French beard to emulate moi favorite star. Amitabh Bachchan made a gesture that I will never forget and he touched my beard and head. He smiled and walked away. I remember giving him a birthday card. It was way back in 2000 when Kaun Banega Crorepathi was launched for the first time. It was my best Amitabh Bachchan moment and hope to meet him once again. Hope my wish become true.

I feel that Amitabh Bachchan has many more years to give to the film industry and the best is yet to come before he hangs his boots. Amitabh Bachchan means excellence in cinema and sometimes, I feel ashamed that at this age I am slacking when someone his age is super active. India’s and the world’s biggest ever superstar is such an inspiration and I must promise myself that I will never abandon in the face of adversity. By the way, I am wearing my Amitabh Bachchan, KBC T-shirt.

Happy Birthday Amitabh Bachchan, sitaron ki shaan hai joh, cinema ka imaan hai jo, woh Bachchan. Nobody can and will ever come an inch to Amitabh Bachchan.

My Amitabh Bachchan KBC T-shirt


Snap shots from my personal file collection since childhood






Hope you enjoy my Amitabh Bachchan collections




  1. Very sweet, Vishal. How lovely. So glad to meet a fellow-fan! I remember I used to keep sketching his portrait and even had “DON” embroidered on my jeans pocket. I admire Amitabh Bachchan – he’s truly inspiring, talented and goes with the times. He literally has the pulse of the audience. So debonair.

    Thanks for showing me this post.

    • Woohoo! That’s amazing Vidya. I wanted to be Shahenshah, mouthing the famous, Rishtey mein Hum Tumhare Baap lagte..forced dad to stitch me a white suit because AB wore one. So many AB memories associated and glad to meet another AB fan, an actor who transcend age and time. I have a silly dream: To direct him in a movie minus the French beard like he was in the hey days. It’s a pleasure, Love this things of stitching Don, awesome yaa:)

Leave a Reply

