Conversation with Bapu

I was sitting in the hall, sipping tea when I saw the shadow of a slim man, dressed in white, traipsing its way towards me. I couldn’t believe my eyes and was flabbergasted when I saw Bappu. Tears rolled down my cheeks when I mustered the courage to say, “Bappu, you!” The short man, stood and said, “Why are you shocked, Beta? I am here to visit you and it’s my birthday.” He stood like a statue and asked, “Why are you crying? Are you missing me? It seems that you have learned very little about my teachings. We should never be attached to anything in life. Why do you cry? Are you attached to me? People should keep me in their hearts but they celebrate my anniversary with pomp once in a year and celebrate Gandhi Jayanti. It doesn’t make me happy when I see so much violence and bloodshed in the world. People are ready to kill each other in the name of religion and it hurts me. I feel that my teachings has gone in vain.”


Bapu touched my shoulders and spoke in a composed manner.”What the point of celebrating Gandhi Jayanti when we don’t think twice before spreading evil in the society where we live? We spat on the streets and throw garbage on the roads, speak ills of others and hurt people’s feelings. People should not celebrate me but rather follow my teachings and it is only then that my soul will be calm. I often cry when I see how we don’t think twice before offering bribe to a cop or transfer a civil servant who has done his or her job correctly. They take pride that I practiced sexual abstinence but evil men commit rape on innocent women and small children.”

He walked two steps and pointed out his stick towards the rainbow,”See, how beautiful is the rainbow! You need to look within for happiness and why are you so unhappy?” Sensing my discomfort, Bapu smiled, “I know everything, Beta. You are in a hurry and remember, wise men and women are patient in life. You are not making the effort to chase your dreams and seek happiness. I know it very well and I can see your future but you need to clear your path for happiness and joy.”

He walks towards the door and turned towards me, “Remember one thing. My teachings still have relevance today. There are so many violence, bloodshed and corruption in the world. You know why? Humanity is dead and we have forgotten who we are. You are also responsible as a human being.”

I am confused and asked, “Me, Bapu?”

“Yes, Beta,” he smiles. “You must do your bit as a human being to make the world a better place. I won’t tell you what  but think what you can and should do to make the world a better place. I will visit next year and I am sure you will tell me what you have done to make the world a better place and spread happiness. Keep me forever in your heart and stay blessed,” Bapu’s shadow disappears out of thin air.


This is an imaginary conversation I just had with Bapu on evils in society, our quest for happiness and his teachings most of us have nicely forgotten. We take great pride in celebrating the Mahatma once in a year, yet we choose to indulge in corrupt practices, bear prejudices against people on account of caste, race and sex. We show a lack of respect towards women, yet we speak on Bapu’s strength of mind in abstaining from sex.

Have a good day




  1. He missed the ‘Hey Rum’ that is prevalent now instead of his Takia Kalam ‘Hey Ram’. I’m glad he didn’t stay longer after your conversation. He would have himself acted against his teachings. Isn’t it that bad out here?

    Well-written piece Vishal!

Leave a Reply

