Happy Belated Navroz to all Parsis

I wish our Parsi friends a very happy and prosperous New Year. Here’s sending lots of love and warm wishes with love coated happiness, health as well as wealth to all Parsis. Belated Happy Navroz, my dear friends.

May thy soul flourish; may thy youth be as the new-grown grain; may thy horse be puissant, victorious…thy every act straight as the arrow’s shaft. May thy house prosper and thy life be long!


A new year is a beautiful time in the life of a community where they celebrate life and love among family members. At the risk of being preachy, I feel that New Year for the Parsi community is the time for them to relish in the dishes made, offer their prayers and strengthen their family bonds and ties. The beauty of a country like India is shown in the way it celebrates different festival belonging to different communities. The Parsi New Year is celebrate with gaiety and enthusiasm and by respecting any festival celebrated by any community, we celebrate a nation. A nation that expresses various emotions through Eid, Diwali, Christmas, Baisakhi and Nowruz.

There are many Parsis families in Mumbai and I have met quite a few of them by being at their respective homes. The Parsis shower a lot of affection and love to their guests and like any good human being and/or Indian families, they go out of their way to make you comfortable like their own and go out of their way to help. They have made considerable progress in cities like Mumbai and are hard working in Indians who never let go of their values and traditions. Hence, a beautiful combination of materialism, love and traditional values.

I recall how when I first moved to Mumbai in 2002  and somebody gave me the contact number of a Parsi family since I was on my own. Aunty and her lovely niece called me and in no time, they reached my hostel in the heavy monsoon. They took me home and fed me with food and hot tea. Not only that, we waited for the rain to stop and we took the cab again and they left no stone untouched, took me to various colleges in Mumbai so as to facilitate my college admission. The niece called some colleges and her friends saying that I am her cousin and she need to do my admission. They won my heart and despite we met for the first time, they treated me like their own. This is the power of kindness.

India Parsi New Year

I also read few enjoyable book on Parsis in ‘Bombay’ and Rohinton Mistry’s ‘Such A Long Journey’ and ‘Tales from Firoksha Baug’ that provides an insight into the lives of Parsis. Mumbai Central is such a place in Mumbai where a chunk of the Paris community reside.

Festivals is a mirror image of a society celebrating joy and unity,

Varying emotions showing thousands of expressions of joy in life.

We celebrate our uniqueness and differences,

Yet, we do not shy away from enjoying each others’ cultural differences.

This is a true beauty of our national identity.

Belated Navroz to our Parsis friends.




Leave a Reply

