My I-Day

On August 15, every Indian should reflect on the sacrifice made by our forefathers in their struggle for freedom and sacrifice of soldiers. India I-Day matters for every Indian, Person of Indian Origin and for any person who carries Indian blood in the vein. Being out of India, I attended the flag raising ceremony hosted by the Indian High Commission at the Indira Gandhi Centre for Indian Culture. The Indian HC also read the speech of the President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee in his address to the nation. I will upload the pictures tomorrow.

The whole day was spent sitting on the couch and watching the teledon ‘Saath Hain Hum Uttarakhand’ hosted by Star Plus, Life OK where Superstar Amitabh Bachchan recited a potent and mesmerizing poem penned by lyricist Prasoon Joshi. The beautiful song on the flood flash was put to music by Shankar-Ehsan-Loy. Amitabh Bachchan lends huge credence to the thought-provoking lyrics through his deep baritone voice.

The film industry has sent a strong signal to the national through ‘Saath Hain Hum Uttarakhand’ and it should serve a lesson to politicians that they should not divide the nation on the basis of Hindus, Muslims, Christians or Sikhs. Wonder whether politicians will ever learn! It is admirable how the film industry came together for a social cause and this is one thing I admire with the film people who honored soldiers, NGOs and the common men. Please send an sms typing HUM to 57821 since the money will go into charity for the people of Uttarakhand. You can also donate money on till September 7 and please remember, such tragedy can happen to any one of us.

I also extend my warm greetings to our Pakistani friends who celebrated the Independence Day on August 14 and firmly believe that both countries share the same destiny. Indians and Pakistanis eat the same food, wear the same clothes and watch Hindi movies. The common people in Pakistan are wonderful beings and I’ve met quite a few good friends online. It’s an entirely different matter that soldiers on the other side of the border are violating the cease fire and infiltrating India but I would like to believe that the common people of both countries should not be made to suffe

I shall leave you with a selection of videos for India’s I-Day. Enjoy:)

Hope you enjoy my efforts





  1. splendid collection of songs Vishal, I never listen to kar chale hum fida or ai mere watan ke logon because I inevitably start sniffing and I really hate to act like a little baby! those two songs are magical!

    I too have had some amazing friends from Pakistan, and I think Bangladesh and Pakistan are our siblings and no one can change my view.

Leave a Reply

