Celebrating Friendship Day: A season to rejoice

Sunset Over Bandstand, Mumbai

Image via Wikipedia

On Friendship Day, I present a small token to everyone who believes in the sacred bond. It’s a short story that I dedicate to everyone.

“So you are going back to Nainital? Why can’t you stay in Mumbai?.I can’t understand this weird behaviour. It’ so abrupt, yaa. Say something at least.”

Kehna ko kya baaki raha, abhi. I am feeling like staying with my mom for a while. As it is, Arun doesn’t love me. I have given up.”

Sneha came to say bye to Ranveer. They studied together at Jai Hind college. They were dating each other but unfortunately it didn’t work out but they choose to remain best friends forever. They didn’t want the relation to take a toll on their friendship. She dated and fell in love with Arun but he ditched her. Somehow, she was not able to get his him out of her life.

The sudden decision to leave Mumbai left many of her friends shocked and Ranveer was dismayed. She was his first friend, long before they started dating and became his strength. As friends, they were inseparable.

Ranveer wanted to try something to prevent her from leaving the city.

“When are you coming back,” he pleaded with tears in his eyes.

She held the palm of his hand as they sit at Barista at Shivaji Park,Dadar.”Don’t worry, we will meet someday.Our friendship can and will never die.Even death can never conquer us.We dated and could have drifted apart but our friendship was too strong. Life cannot fail us. What is distance,yaar?”

“Please Sneha, don’t do this to me. What would I do without you here in Mumbai?You know that,” he tearfully said.

She already took her decision.”Tomorrow 5.20 a.m come to the flat.I will give you the key.You can shift there. I have already spoken to the owner. I didn’t move anything and everything is intact. Those things will remind you every day of our sweet moments spent together.  Hey, cheer up. You have a sea facing room and the window opens up to the beach. I will be forever with you, present in every juncture of life.”

In the morning, he came to the house and scurried away with Sneha’s luggage to Chitrapathi Shivaji Terminus(CST). Both of them were silent in the black and yellow cab as they witnessed the swirl of traffic from Bandra to Marine Drive, Churchgate, and CST. The train for Calcutta slowly approached the station as he helped her pull the heavy stack of luggage. They looked at each other in silence. The siren blew and the train was rattling away from the station and she scampered and threw herself on him. She tearfully hugged him.

“I shall always remember you.You were, are and will always be my best friend.You shall be present forever in my heart.” Both of them hugged each other and their voices choked in emotions, shedding bucket of tears.

The train slowly ambled away from CST as Sneha ran along to enter the train as Ranveer sat on the bench to watch it disappear at a faraway distance. A part of his life has gone with the dust.

Six years later:

Ranveer checked on his Facebook notification and received a new friend request. He checks the profile of someone wearing a saree and blue spectacle. He’s crestfallen. It’s Sneha Dasgupta, his bong friend. He couldn’t believe his eyes.

“Ranveer, will you meet me? I am leaving a phone number. Call me I have seen you in the busy streets of Calcutta.”

He is in Calcutta for a film shoot.

Ranveer pressed the bell and is greeted by a tall woman wearing a green sari.

“Hi, I am Ranveer.”

She smiled exuberantly.

“Ranveer beta. Sneha speaks about you every time. She is in the hospital and will undergo surgery for cancer.”

“What? She never told me about it.”

He entered the hospital and clueless what to tell her. He really wants to slap her for hiding everything from him.

Sneha is lying in hospital and sports a fading smile.

“Hi, Ranveer. How is everyone in Mumbai? You have become more handsome and looking very sexy. Hunk.”

He looked at her straight.

“Just shut up okay. Why did you lie to me? You have broken my trust.”

She caresses his face.

“I didn’t want to burden you. It’s my fight.”

He furiously said, “Since when it became your own solo battle. I always thought that it was us. Our friendship.”

They hug each other like children lost in the Kumbh Mela and cry in each other’s arms.

One year later.

Sitting on the veranda, Sneha holds his hand, “Dude let’s go to Mumbai.”

He calmly says, “Sneha, your surgery is successful. Heal completely and allow some time. I promise to take you to Mumbai.”

She exudes a calm and composed smile,

“Ranveer. I have realised that since I left Mumbai I wasn’t living my life. I was dying every day. The guy with whom my marriage was fixed left me saying that he cannot live with a wife who is diagnosed with cancer. You were my only friend and were with till the time I went for surgery. I know it’s your silent prayers and love that saved my life. I want to enjoy every moment of my life with you.”

The next morning they left for Mumbai and they reached the city of dreams on Friendship Day that was on a Sunday, They tied wristband on each other’s hands. They munched pani puri at Marine drive, ate Kulfi and drank cutting chai as they walked the long distance from Marine Drive to Chowpatty beach. They traveled in the cab, double-decker bus and local trains.

They gave each other a happy hug oblivious to the presence of onlookers. They didn’t care about perception.They are the best of friends and remained so.

Happy Friendship Day.

“True friends are those that withstood the test of time.”


Hey folks, tried the short story on the auspicious Friendship Day and dedicate it to everyone who believe in Friendship.Let me know the feedback.

With Love


Leave a Reply

