Diary of a Mumbaikar

Standard

Wee hours of Sunday Morning and I am right here. Yammering…Yam, Yam, Yam..Is it sounding like I am eating chocolate?Yummy!Had a haircut after 2 months and ma long tresses are gone for good. A brand new Avatar or image with short hair, clean-shaven and all. When was last time I had short hair? Trying to remember…well no chance. Been reading Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert and I’m hooked to it. Brilliant book. A journey in the life of a woman from the States to Italy, India, and Bali. It’s incredible and one lives through the life of Elizabeth. Feeling like booking my ticket to Italy, one dream destination and Bali.

Speaking of holidays, I’m dying to go to Goa. Should be done next year. I badly need a break and shed off the excess load. My Mumbai days comes back to mind. Whether it’s having beer at Cafe Leo-Leopold and roaming the causeway, checking out stuffs in the shops outside the bar or sneaking in at Baghdad for a beef feast. Mumbai is an incredible city. Still vividly remember my first outing at Colaba. Beautiful and the next stop, gateway where some photographers tries to fool you for a pic. Staying in a South Indian guest house for a paltry 100 bucks. yea, I swear. It was way back in 2004. Imagine the costliest city. Yet, the room was a small space. Space for your legs only, between the bed. Then, who stays in the hotel. Shopping for funky T-shirts and shirts at Causeway and jumping at Mc Do, near Metro shoes for a quick bite. Awesome Filet-o-Fish or Big Mac. Mac Do and Barista was life and dropping a line or two at the Shiv Mandir. I truly miss ma Mumbai years. A city I fell in love with and we split. Ours is a falling in and out of love with. Yet, no one can deny that Mumbai has an inherent soul in itself.

Mumbaikar Diary shall be updated every now and then. Shall make the effort for that. I always forget. It was one of the countless introduction to the Diary. Feeling sleepy now coz I’m not in the city that never sleep.

amchi mumbai

V

Leave a Reply

